You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Best Practices for Steemit Newbie Artists by @merej99 - a 100% Power Up Post

in #art7 years ago

Thanks for the tips and info :-)

I got a question if you do not mind... Whats the deal with the upvoting and posting? I do not get why we should upvote our own post when creating it? Any helpfull hints on this topic? I did 4 posts, 2 with upvoting and 2 without, so we will see where the train takes me I guess. LOL

Sort:  

Hi @inthenow - there are people on two sides of the self-voting issue. On one side, there are some who say those who self vote are gaming the system and draining the pool for their own benefit. On the other side, there are those who say if we take the time to create quality content why shouldn't we upvote our content?

So here's where I personally stand. I do upvote my posts. I never upvote my comments. As a new member, your vote strength is not going to be very strong and until you reach 1m vests all of your upvotes are defaulted to 100% strength. At this point in time it's really not a big deal as far as your account is concerned. Once you get your vote slider then you can adjust your vote strength per post and comment. I personally think it's a pain in the ass but since the last hardfork, may of us 100% upvoters had to adjust our voting patterns or our vote strength would be drained to nothing after 10 "super power" 100% votes.

Why does that matter to you? because dolphin and whale votes have the potential of being a very generous vote. In fact, when I first began, my comments were earning more STEEM & SBD than my posts!

The best advice I can give to you is this: Use a quarter of your Steemit time in creating and the other three-quarters of your time interacting with people. Build your tribe and following. Generously leave thoughtful comments. Interact. You will see your community (and earnings) grow. GOOD LUCK!

Thanks for replying, much appreciated. :-)

I will keep this info in mind for sure.

Have a great day!

You are so helpful. Thank you for explaining this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65