Sketching from imagination - part two

in #art7 years ago

A few days ago I made a post about "Sketching from imagination - Fantasy", and this time it's Sci-Fi. One more artbook from my collection, from the same series as the previous one, and for the same goals.

I'll remind them in case if you missed my previous post.

Everything we can draw from our imagination we have to put there first. Like a writer can use his personal or other people life experience, for example, an artist can use images he saw somewhere to melt them together and pass through his own creative filter to create something new. So our "visual library" needs instant re-filling. 

For me one of the favorite ways to do it is looking through artbooks. If you never tried it - I highly recommend you to, it really the way to get quickly inspired. And this is the reason why I hold a big collection of artbooks at home. It really is a source of inspiration I always can take and use.

Of course most of them are scanned and can be found somewhere in the interned, but I'm against such policy (not only because it's stealing after all). When you hold a book it's a completely another feeling, different from getting your experience from the computer screen. 

Also for me it's much more convenient. If I need to refresh some characters in my memory I don't need to seek all the internet from the top to bottom, I can just take a book from my shelf.

The only trick here that such artbooks take a lot of space and usually are really heavy total weight of my artbooks are about 100 kilos, Marvel Universe alone is 3,5:)

But let's go back to the hero of this particular review:

Art by Anais Maamar

As well as the previous book this one also consists of numerous artists sketching reviews, and tricks and tips they can give. So it's not only a useful watching, but a useful reading too.  Sometimes when I feel lack of inspiration - you know what works to fix it? Looking at someone else creating art. All of a sudden you start thinking about your own ideas. By the way watching WIP on youtube serves the same goal. 

Art by Lilly Eliott

Since the main theme of the artbook is sci-fi sketching it has a lot of examples of different robots and vehicles. Especially useful for me cause creating mechanisms really is my weak spot - and here I always can find some tips.

Art by Metheney Brynn

Who said that sci-fi sketching can't be cute? If the creatures can be somewhere between the fantasy and sci-fi, their equipment definitely will be from the sci part.

Art by Quach Darren

The only thing I would change in the artbook - I would add more interior sketches. Fantasy landscapes or interiors are way easir to create as for me, but may be it's because I had more practice in it. While sci-fi requires a lot of different tiny details, and it's not always possible to find enough visual material.

This is how the book looks. I ordered i from Amazon I don't regret - it really worth to have in the collection, and it's such a wonderful, wild mix of different sketch artists.  I highly recommend every artist to have it in the shelf, I mean these of you my dear friends who draw on similar themes, it really helps to get inspired even in the middle of hardest art block.

P.S. I put all the artists names under the drawings. I did it with big letters. So I put the source. I see a single comment pretending that it's my art - the one who wrote it will be burned on inquisition fire. I'm already tired of the ones who just write "nice art you have" without reading the post. It's OK not to read everything, but it's not OK to not even look at the post. And it's the only possibility I can imagine for not to notice the sources.

Thank you for voting and commenting:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

@inber it's Amazing painting!! Thanks for sharing with us!!

I love your post! you have my upvote!

Thank you:)

Good post. Resteemed.

Thank you:)

So good and cute

Human mind can do anything..👍

That's some great peice of work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33