How to take care of your brushes? Brushes guide - part four. Material review. Video inside.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Now, when I have all brushes shown let's talk about how to take care of them.

There's a few tips and clues that will help your brushes last longer.

  • 1. Don't put them in water lower, then the metal part end.

First - it's no need to do it. And second - it will ruin the glue inside the metal part of your brush and it'll start to loose hair.

  • 2. Don't leave your bruch in water while not using it

The same reason, it'll ruin the grue that keeps the hair of the brush together. And one more reason - the hair of brush will suffer from deformation. It will be really hard, nearly impossible to get the right shape back.

  • 3. Don't throw away the plastic caps most brushes are sold with.

It protectis the hair of your brush from deformation, always put the cap back when you're done working.

  • 4. Don't leave your brush to dry with hair up

I've made a brush dryer myself, you can see it in the video below. If you'll leave your wet brush to dry hair up - see point one what will happen. So - always hair down.

  • 5. Don't use aggressive detergent to clean the brush

There's a couple of ways to clean the brush from any medium:

  1. Use special soap from the art supplies store
  2. Use special brush-cleaner liquid
  3. Use regular dishwashing liquid mixed with oil 50/50

Here you also can find my video with this information. It's just not everyone will spend time on watching video, that's why I added the text. I show there how my hand-made brush dryer device looks, and how to wash brushes correctly.

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

I just learnt 5 things I do wrong with my brushes, thanks Inber, this will definitely save me having to buy too many new brushes

You're most welcome!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65506.63
ETH 3439.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31