Creating a perfect composition - refresher for the artists and photographers:)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Once I already made a post about composition, in this one I want to refresh the information a bit. I see more and more beginner artists among my followers, and I think it would be great to share useful information. 

Understanding the rules of composition is really important for both, artists and photographers. Sometimes we look at the picture and even can't ubderstand why it looks so much better then the same one taken from different angle. The same about draings and paintings - some of them nearly MAKE us to look at them, to look through them carefylly, they lead our eyes to important detailes. 

That's the magic of composition. In this post I use illustrations that are not mine, but unortunatly I can't give a credit to author. I definitely would if I knew who made the tutorial, but I don't. One of my drawing teachers gave them to me years ago, and now I can't reestablish the authority. If you know who created the tutorial, by the way - please let me know in the comments below. I'm sure it's not the only one.

So, the first rule is quite simple: place important details on the points of intersection of the Golden Mean. Then your object will look great:) The exception is portrait, where model is the main part, no, the whole composition.

Leave your mane object some space to breath, use the tips to create depth.

Look for a geometric shape you composition can be inscribed to. They all have different character, look for the one you need:) Circle is usually calm. Triangle is stable, but the flipped over one is opposite - wavering.

Don't forget about the rythm, it's really eye-catching thing. Rythm of the trees on the landscape, rythm of the roads in the mountains - anything. Pythm helps you to make the composition more "logical", and lead the eye where you need. You also can create interrupted rythm, when something brealsit. But remember that it's not a solution for nice still - life, it about drama:)

Look for the right viewpoint. Think about what effect, what emotion or story your composition must tell?

So, remember all this while sketching your composition. Also remember that you can breal the rules if you need a special effect. But to break them you need to know them first:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

@inber, this is very useful and wonderfully illustrated tutorial on composition. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS 😊

Thank you so much!:)

Is it a bit clearer what I was talking about? 😊

Oh, I see:) Sorry, sometimes it just takes me time to understand and to translate;)

Helpful post

Happy to hear it:)

Glad too :)

@goldenroom I was just talking about the Golden Mean ^^

Great post, @inber as always.

Thank you!:)

Perfect explanation @inber. This must be seen, this is suitable for Daily Photo Selection as a tutorial

I'm not sure I know what you're talking about?:)

Very helpful

Glad to hear it:)

Wow! That was very informative. Thank you @inber for the blog.

Thank you for reading!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51