Brushes guide - part three, brushes for different mediums. Material review.

in #art7 years ago

Well, this is my collection of brushes:

And it's mot all of them. Some of yhem "live" in boxes with mediums, or get dry, so... But I think it's already impressive ammount:)

One of the main reasons I have them that a lot - I just love to have a choise. And it gives me posiibility to write this review:) 

For different mediums different brushes should be used. It's not a strict rule, but it's recomended to. So, in this review I want to tell what brushes I use for each medium.

  • 1. Ink

I put it here first because brushes for inking were in a separate post yesterday. You can find it here.  

If you don't want to use calligraphy bruches for inking line art - any other are suitable. Use natural orsynthetic ones depending on your preferences.

  • 2. Oil

Oil is a dangerous material for natural brushes and it loves tight ones. The only natural matrrial suitable for oil is pig bristle brushes. They don't last for long, they're easy to grind. These are my favotite:

They're cheap and easy to buy even in a hardware store. 

If you don't like these, use synthetic brushes. I chouse KOLOS brushes for myself:

They're awesome, but oil will spoil any kind of brush really quickly. Don't use natural fur brushes, thay will last only for one painting then.

  • 3. Watercolor

Watercolor loves natural brushes. They keep a lot of water in them, so for water-based medium it's a perfect choise. Using squirrel brushes is classic, but I don't like them. I prefer kolinsky and marten.

You also can use mild synthetic, but it'll lead to overspending of medium.

I don't use acrilic paint, so it's not in the list:) In one of the next posts I'll tell even more omportant information: how to take care of your brushes?:)

See you in the next post!

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

interesting post!

I like how you describe. It is clear and accessible and interesting. Thank you
@инбер . I wish good luck and new interesting posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66383.47
ETH 3513.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53