The Story of the Art at the Albany Bulb...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Down by the Bay in Albany, California, there is a little strip of land called The Albany Bulb...

A bunch of artists, many of them HOMELESS, spent many years living there, making fantastic paintings and sculptures in this park from trash they found there. For years, it was simply what it was, and I used to go for walks there with my brother and my sister and my cousins Kathleen and Sara and our dogs.


this sculpture was made by Osha Neumann who is a lawyer for the Homeless, in Berkeley, CA


here it is from a different view


and here's the arch...and in the distance... the woman




devil riding a dragon


man holding a shovel

In Addition - paintings by Sniff


Sniff is a collection of artists that did paintings down there and left them out in the elements for YEARS


that's me (about 10 years ago)


that's my brother


Sniff signature


more recent additions to the park

Of course now the YUPPIES have moved into this area, so the artwork is being removed. Read about it here.

I asked my cousin Kath about it yesterday, she said "That's so strange that you ask about the Albany Bulb, because Liz and Mimi and I just went there on Sunday! I hadn't been in a long time. The art by Osha Neumann -----the wonderful metal sculptures of people----is still there, but a lot of smaller stuff is gone, and a lot of the junk: hunks of steel and concrete are also gone, as is any sign of a homeless encampment. Roads have been widened and garbage cans are even here and there. It looks almost like a regular park!"

Sanitize the real Creativity

Sort:  

How you can think about this creations......:)
Awesome creation.
Upvoted and Resteamed!!!
@in2itiveart

This submission has made it on the @MutuWhale MutuList!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49