Jewelry Apprenticeship...SigilsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I got a jewelry apprenticeship - free - the lost wax method...at a Denver gallery, called Gallery 1505 at 1505 S. Pearl St., across from Sushi Den...
That's important because Sushi Den is where all the cool rich people go and when they have to wait an hour for a table, they come over to the Gallery and buy Jewelry and art... I might be able to hang some art in there as well. Or do first Friday there...who knows?

Today I started my first lost wax piece...it is a ring or a bracelet.

I will go back there 2 days a week and finish it. I would like to have an opal for the top part, so I am seeking that now. Ultimately, if I do well, I can be paid for doing pieces for them or I can just do my own pieces and put them in her gallery for free. She will take 30% commission on sales.


Sigil: I have the courage to stand up to a bully


I drew the sigil on wax paper


Then using the iron,


I added wax to the top of it and "built" it up.


and up and up on the wax paper...


Then I peeled it off and used the iron to find the edges again. It took about 4 hours.

I think I have quite a bit more work to do on this piece, but we shall see. In the meantime, I will go to the Denver Mineral Show to find an opal.

Sort:  

You have a lot of artistic work! Your description is awesome!

thank you kouba01! I tried to take a few pics while making it - although I was not sure that was "cool" in the shop to do...and the owner wasn't around to ask permission of - so I just was able to get a few...

I think this piece could be stunning when it's finished!

thank you @amberyooper! I can't wait to get it done!

Wow! Sigil jewelry. What a great idea!

thanks!

Congratulations! I'm excited for you. And I think making sigils wearable is a really great idea.

thanks, i am kind of panicking about it right now, but I can quit at any time if it doesn't work out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91