Best places to find original Art

in #art7 years ago

images.jpeg

I learned to appreciate garage sales from an early age with my grandma. One of the treasures I look for is original art. It is also one of the best values you can find. The cost of reproduction art in stores is obscene IMHO. Especially considering you can find original art that provides such uniqueness. The funny thing is I can remember every specific sale where I found the art and sometimes has a nice story. Sometimes the art was created by a family member who is deceased and people love the fact that somebody appreciates the art. For example, I once purchased a great art piece of a bullfighter that was painted in 1967. It was painted by a deceased relative of the seller and they were very happy to see someone appreciate it. She made my day as she grinned and waved as I drove off. I will appreciate that piece for a long time because of that experience. It cost me a whole $5.
It is sad to me that sometimes people will throw original art in the landfill. Instead most people opt for reproduction art that possibly 3 or 4 other people on the street may have as well. I apologize if I'm sounding like a rich art snob. Quite the opposite save yourself money and put some originality on the walls. You will help save landfill space and possibly make someones day as well.
Thank you all Steemers!
The Recovering Banker

Sort:  

Good point. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and value is a concept that is made up and only exists within the game of life. Like what you like. Find your fabulous $2.00 art. Save the landfill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47