Step By Step Guide to Sketch A Portrait

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians. Today I am going to give you a tutorial to draw a sketch of a Portrait. I am not a pro artist but still, I will try my best. I used to draw good sketches but as I said in my previous post that I was busy with my youtube channel and my blog. And both of my page and channel was nothing to do with art so I am drawing after a long time. If I do any mistake please tell me in the comment section.

Here Is The Final Sketch

attachment_171228085038.jpeg

The Real Portrait

IMG_20151027_071856.jpg

Used Material: I used a Cluth pencil, 5B,6B and 9B pencils. This material will work for this image only. Your material can vary according to your portrait. Always remember more the number of the pencil darker will be the color. For example, a 6B pencil will be darker than a 3B pencil.

attachment_171229094831.jpeg

So Now let's move on to the main portrait.

Step 1: At first let me tell you one thing that if you are new artist always try to make the outline of the image you want to sketch. Many people use some methods like ruler method. In that method, we draw squares in the art paper and then draw the image. But that method has a disadvantage. If you use that method for a long time then you will not able to draw without squares. Moreover, it will decrease the quality of the image when you will rub them off.

At first, I made the outline of the sketch. I just draw the outline of the face first and then the eyes, hair, nose and then the lips but I skipped those photos because it will make this post too lengthy. So I am starting from the main outline.

attachment_171228073558.jpeg

Making the eyes is always the toughest part of a sketch or a portrait. So try to give details in the eyes.

Step 2: Start highlighting the image from one point to another. Don't do it at once or you will mess up. Try to highlight all the parts equally. In my sketch, I highlighted the eyes first because as I said it is the most important part of an art. After highlighting the eyes I went for the hairs. I used a 5B pencil in the forehead and 6B pencils in the eyes brows and in the hairs.

attachment_171228074010.jpeg

Step 3: In this I highlighted the hairs with a 6B pencil. Many people don't know how to draw the hairs. It is simple but people make it difficult. Always draw the hairs one by one. It will take time but it will make your sketch a beautiful one. Don't try to make the hairs all at once. Try to make it step by step. After making sketching the hair I moved on to the lips. After that, I started shading the face as well.

attachment_171228080226.jpeg

Step 4: In this step I went for the dress and then completed shading the face. It's optional, If you don't want to add the lower part and want draw just the face it's your choice but if you draw the lower parts then the sketch will look more beautiful. I used a 5B pencil in the face and the skin parts and 6B in the dress.

attachment_171228080503.jpeg

Step 5: In this step, I sketched the remaining hairs of the portrait. As I already said try to complete the sketch in parts. After completing the hairs I moved on to the remaining dress part and sketched it with a mixture of 6B and 9B pencil. Use the higher number pencil where you need darker colors. The hairs of a sketch should always be darker than the remaining parts so I used 9B pencil in the hairs.

attachment_171228083603.jpeg

Final Step: In the final step, I sketched the hairs on the right side of the image. After that completed the remaining parts of the dress and highlighted all the remaining parts of the sketch. And our sketch is ready.

attachment_171228085038.jpeg

Thanks for visiting my blog. Upvote and comment.

Sort:  

@imnick wow this is amazing and theres me drawing A STICKMAN

Wow! You made a lot of work! Excellent artwork and tutorial.

Excelente! me encantó el resultado!

bastante bien amigo si me permites una sugerencia no oscurezcas tanto las lineas de contorno o si estan en ese punto de oscuridad que ya tienes solo da mas intensidad a las sombra y los medios tonos. pero esta muy bien el dibujo :)

This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow account ! Follow ❗️ our blog for support . For resteem take a look at our latest posts : To Honor Old Masters , if you like them don't forget to show this ;)❗️

I draw portraits too.. Feel free to see my portrait drawing too when you have a free 60 second.

I also Draw and paint jena

helpful tutorial

your drawing is very nice! you've really followed the picture excellently! :) keep it up!

Good guide and sketch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48