Eye | Drawn using Faber Castell Classic Colour Pencils | Step by Step

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Today I will show you how I draw the eye using colored pencils.

When we begin to draw a portrait we should start with the eyes as they are the most important feature of the face.  

If you get the eyes right at the beginning of the portrait, it will boost your confidence to continue. 

The steps below are my own processes and techiniques, it doesn't require you to follow. 

Materials used:

  • Sketch pad
  • Colour pencils (I use Faber Castell Classic)
  • Clay eraser
  • HB Pencil
  • White paint and brush (Optional)

Let's Begin!

Step 1: Outline the shape of the eye.

I used HB pencil to draw the outline. (Avoid pressing it too hard or else it will be hard to erase it later on)


Step 2: Shade the pupil.

Erased the part you're going to fill. 

(I used the clay eraser because it absorbed the graphite easily-do it everytime you proceed to another ) and then shade the pupil.

Step 3: Shade the iris, draw spokes, blend and add depth.

I begin to build up the colors reflected in the iris. The eye is green but it contain hints of yellow and blue. I used the white paint to add highlights on the pupil.

Step 4: Shade the eye.

Notice that the 'white' of the eye is almost never white and for this we have used a gentle red. And the eyeliner is on fleek 😂

Step 5: Shade the skin.

I evenly shading the skin around the eyes with a flat flesh color.

Step 6: Apply basic tones.

I pile on layers of color to increase the intensity of the colors  and I used an eraser  to lift out the highlights of the skin. 

Step 7: Darken the details.

Make the details more visible.

Step 8: Add the upper and lower lash.

I used the black color pencil or you can use black ballpen.

Step 9: Fill the eyebrows and finalization.

I now need to proceed very carefully to delicately pick out the eye brows, making sure that our pencil lines follow the natural direction of their growth. Then, finalize everything.


And here is the final output.


I hope you enjoyed! If you have any requests, let me know in the comments below.

Dont forget to  follow 😉

Does it need improvements? Your feedbacks are greatly appreciated!

Happy New Year! 🎉

Regards,

@imkareencajes 

Sort:  

Excellent work! The Faber castel is considered as the best pencils. Another good pencils is the Derwent.

Haven't heard of Derwent. Is it expensive?

In my city Derwent costing cheaper than Faber castell. But Faber Castell is leader among tools for artist)

Congratulations @imkareencajes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow. Nice tutorial. Keep posting like this @imkareencajes.

Upvoted.

I am enjoying your posts and sharing with my son who also loves art.

Thank you, I hope your son liked it 😊

wow i like your art ;)

Congratulations @imkareencajes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37