Making my own GRADUATION dress.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I started modifying my own clothes quite early on. I never felt like they fit my body right. Maybe it was because of puberty, maybe because of body image issues, maybe it was because of social media.

I would dread going to shop for clothes because nothing would ever fit right. I always ended up shopping in the SALES section because (I was BROKE, but also because...) I thought to myself, "why spend a lot of money on a piece that you will have to fix anyways?". I'm telling you all this because, somehow it lead me to have the brilliant idea of making my own graduation dress...

Here's a compilation of the process.

No project is complete without good a distraction: Pirates of the Caribbean woot woot

I always start by the skirt because it's the only thing I feel comfortable making.

Inspired by an imagine online, I really wanted a somewhat-see-through part to the dress.

... But I didn't know how to approach it, so I went in another direction.

This was actually a first version of the halter top. I greatly... disliked it, so I remade it later.

At this point, I had no idea how to proceed. So I just wrapped it to look as close to the dress I wanted as possible to keep encouraging myself to finish it. I was so close to giving up then, but that fabric wasn't cheap (fabric really isn't cheap in general)! SO I HAD TO FINISH IT.
Or go naked to the graduation ball.

So I worked hard for months (I'm serious. I started this dress on the 19/05/16 and the ball was on the 26/08/16) non-consecutive! I only had between 12am and 2am to work on it mostly.

In the end, it was heavy on my neck as the dress structure was all wrong, because, honestly, I have no experience WHATSOEVER in sewing dresses (#selftaught #gowithflow)HAHAHAa
...But, I was quite happy with the results (and the fact that I didn't have to go naked)! ೕ(˃ᴗ˂ ๑)

Hope you enjoyed! (⌒▽⌒)☆


Took a break from TRAVEL BLOGGING, will be back at it soon!
motorcycleridesapplecustardfruitalpacawarmsockslordoftheringscosplayingcolunteering

Sort:  

Wow! Amazing! Congratulations!

Amazing, you're so beautiful! Great work with the dress, I whish I could do such things:)

excellent, looks lovely on you. Well done

Beautiful girl and dress.

you are very talented))) how much time it took?

Maybe 2 weeks to a month in that whole 4 months that I spread it over :P

Clothes in stores are designed to look good on hangers.
Supermodels aren't really skinny, they are really flat, like a human hanger.

Most humans aren't hangers, and so getting something that looks good on a human, especially curvy women, is an art. I am glad to see that you are getting things to work for you.

Good job on this dress. Hope to see your next sewing project.

Your Beautiful Dress that you made by hand will cement your Graduation into long lasting meaningful memories to be cherished forever. Its going to be a BIG and special day which deserves the perfect style and fit for you. You made the right choice. Please blog after gruadiation for all of us to see. You have a new follower.

Congratulations @imeeveemi! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @imeeveemi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33