You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Metamorphosis /// Original art for the surreal art contest

in #art7 years ago

Please take this as a compliment because it is absolutely meant as one.

This is, somehow, one of the most unsettling things I’ve ever seen.

I’m not exaggerating.

I keep scrolling back up to look at it, even though it’s so unsettling that I get nervous and on edge just glancing at it.

This is somehow, both, at the nadir is my own personal uncanny valley, and, at the pinnacle of some kind of weird schadenfreude that, wow, hey, I am so insanely happy that this...human-like-creature has to suffer through life being that way, instead of me.

I don’t experience visceral emotions from visual art.

Except right now.

Oh. My. I looked at it again.

Whatever you’re doing, keep doing it.

Sort:  

I actually love creepy and unsettling art so I do take it as a compliment :) Me and my boyfriend used to run an artisinal boutique and I had some sculptures for sale, one was a cat with a womans face, a girl came in one day and was browsing and she kept picking it up and looking disgusted and putting it down again. She ended up buying it and she told us she found it so disturbing that she had to have it! Art is supposed to provoke a reaction so wether good or bad I am happy to have made someone feel something!

I remember that, she was disgusted by it, but she needed to have it....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35