My illustrations | A quick way to draw a postcard

in #art8 years ago (edited)


A couple of days ago I received a new task on my work - to create a postcard for Managers' Day (the 3d of November). The postcard should show how managers loved our developers. 

This sheet below was my task that I've received from my manager :))  


I had no time and a lot of other tasks. So I decided to create this postcard using a photo of my colleagues as a prototype. This way is more quickly than drawing a sketch. So the 1st step - put your models to a pose you need and took a picture :) By the way, they are a real husband and wife and they are the real manager and the developer in our company - all as it was needed for my goal :)  


Then I opened Adobe Illustrator (this is my favorite editor). Here you also can see my workspace - I like when all panels are arranged in left and at the bottom.  


Then step by step I created all objects I needed - monitors, a table, a mug with our company's logo etc. Also I renamed all groups and layers. I like it when my paperwork is in perfect order :) Also, my colleagues can re-use this illustration for other postcards or use these created objects, and much more convenient when all objects have the correct names.  


The most interesting step - how to draw people in vector editor.  It is not difficult, but takes time because there are always lot of details. 

I decided to use only their pose, but replace their faces to faces drawn in my style (I did not have the goal to achieve the portrait likeness). 

I started with girl's face. I like to draw girls :)) For me is a big challenge to draw a boy... :)  


Some steps gave funny results :))) Do not afraid - this was not the final face :)


But this is the practically final face. Also I added hairs. 


The next step was the body creation. I led round the contour of the body by the Pen tool. 


The same way I created the male character. According to my manager's wishes he should wear glasses and a beard. So I added both.


Here's what came out.


And finally I added several details on the background - texts, gradients and different "manager's symbols". And also I changed the color of the background.


This postcard was not finished a little. I wanted to add  more details... but in the middle of the process I was told to change the idea of the postcard. All designers should understand how it can be  painful to change the concept in the middle :)). So I had to draw another postcard even more quickly than the presented one. :))) But I can't show it before the Manager's Day, because it's a surprise for my colleagues. So I'll show it later. 

 

Previous illustrations:

My favorite yoga asanas 

Famous programmers in pop art style


Follow me if you don't want to miss new illustrations
@iloilo 

Sort:  

Nice... postcard..

Thanks :) But it was not finished.. So I just wanted to share the part of the process, not the product :)

where is the reality? :) Nice work. I enjoyed.

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56