[Steven Universe] 5 Reasons that make it a fantastic animated serie. + My Fan Art.

in #art7 years ago (edited)


8509fde7c0c8c4cb43b5f351f4386441.jpg

Hello Steemians! I'm finally making my first post about a TV series and on this occasion a series [Animated] -as I had planned for a long time- I also present a Fan Art.

I can say that Steven Universe is one of the few animated series currently on Cartoon Network that has caught me, and that is that each time the animated cartoons are more censored or made for a crowd a thousand times younger. In these times animated series have taken another direction as they were in our childhood, or mine ('90), where we could see things that today are considered scandals, this has made many good series come out of TV or set them apart for an ''adult'' schedule.

lion.gif
Source

FF_Divider_Pink4.png

Rose_Quartz English.png

Steven Universe is an animated series created by Rebecca Sugar. And it's the first series produced by a woman on Cartoon Network. This series also stands out for the importance that is given to the female gender.

Fusion_Cuisine_071.png
Source

FF_Divider_Pink4.png

NewRubyGem2 English.png

This series stands out for its history and audiovisual production, it is quite attractive visually and musically.

wall 1.jpg
1 2 3

The palette of colors used make it beautiful plastically next to the melodies created especially for the series.
Wall 2.jpg
1 2 3

The art direction is really unique. Listen to this song, (my favorite).

Ruby and Sapphire Song. Something Entirely New

FF_Divider_Pink4.png

Opal_ChestGem_Day English.png

The characters are almost infinite and each time they appear more, the series is set in a place called Beach City, where Steven and his father Greg live together with three alien warriors, Garnet, Perla, and Amethyst. In the first season, his pet Leon and his friend Connie appear and later become part of the main characters.

english chars.png

In the series the ''Crystal Gems'', are survivors of an ancient interstellar civilization they were forced to leave their hometown, and so a brilliant idea of aliens along with precious stones merged, since each character ''alien''. It's based on a real crystal gem, and they were designed inspired by these.

Next I present a tree of characters and mergers, each fusion represents a new character, when two gems join their personalities combine and form a totally new character, with a consistent personality of the merger.

tumblr_obyzt5mzQH1renehho1_1280.png
Source

FF_Divider_Pink4.png

Amethyst_gem_day English.png

Steven Universe tackles diverse subjects throughout its 5 seasons: art and entertainment, references to the LGBT community, popular culture and superheroes of both the West and the Japanese side.

There are always references of famous animes such as: Sailor Moon, Dragon Ball, Evangelion, among others.

(
Sailor Moon Reference

hqdefault.jpg
Dragon Ball Reference

6e89b48bec451e3ea15b592c9c916157b184ddc8_hq.jpg
Evangelion Reference

FF_Divider_Pink4.png

Gema_de_Alejandrita_(Ruby) English.png

Steven Universe is a series that has a strong emotional charge (more than once I cried looking at it), many of the most important events happened when he was not born so as the series progresses we begin to discover things from the past that have a great symbolic charge in Steven's life.

stevenxconie.gif
Source

FF_Divider_Pink4.png

GARNETZAFIRO YTAL ENG.png

1 - I started with the usual sketches. Start with the hair, then the torso and then the crystals.
wee.jpg

2 - When painting, I used cold paints, I wanted to use watercolors but it would not give me the finish I wanted. Once dry I added details with a rapidgraph, in the same way I decided to have his 3 eyes reflected and I added them.
3.jpg

3 - The arms and everything that followed I started doing with colored pencils. (The change in lighting is because I was traveling to another place)
2.jpg

4 - The hands look strange but I did the best I could until I felt satisfied, now it's time to start coloring the crystals.
dasdsad.jpg

5 - Painting the crystals was a lot of work, it could be said that it serves as an art therapy, it takes a lot of patience.
4.jpg

6 - Almost finished the part of the crystals and I was quite tired, I chose a day a little heavy to paint it, but I did not want to rest until I finished it.
5.jpg

7 - Once the crystals were completely ready, then with the rapidograph I decided to highlight all the edges of the crystals, to give a better effect.
6.jpg
Detail of the crystals.
luli.jpg

8 - Finished!! I added details to the sides of each hand to emphasize Ruby and Sapphire.
7.jpg

DSC00761.JPG

Once the most beautiful couple in the world of Steven Universe is ready, I can rest in peace.
rubyxsaphire.gif
Ruby y Zafiro

separator-6d350b3c93bc32bc622994e3be068598b5cb27001da0411a890b80caa804ce34.png

Thanks for be here!
You can find me on twitter as @ilhuna_
On Instagram as @ilhuna
And visit my Flickr for watch my photography https://www.flickr.com/photos/ilhunaphoto/

1.png

I don't like adding watermark to my photography because i believe it just make it a product and isn't, if you want to use one of my photographs please contact me first.
©2018 María Zerpa. All rights reserved.

ilhuna.png

Sort:  

i loooooovvve your work! it clearly shows your passion for this cartoon show! your presentation style is very good too! and i love your art at the end! one thing i noticed though, your #5 is in spanish, i assume it wasnt intentional? hehe anyways great job with the post! love it! :)

its steven universe andy... The number one western cartoon today, for me atleast, better than adventure time and rick and morty.

really? i didnt know that! i like its drawing style though but i havent gotten the chance to watch an episode..

Thank you!! it wasn't intentional, fixed already ;) !

my pleasure dear! :)

extraordinary post is very appropriate to be trending, hopefully I also one day later my post can be trending like you.

What does it mean to live authentically & truly pursue your passion - Artsy Fartsy inspirational motivational - by Jose Arteaga https://d.tube/v/josearteaga/kgfs19zi

This is one of my favorites! It's quirky and strange and wonderfully funny.
Fun fact they once did an episode of baking a purple Yam cake or Ube as we Filipinos call it.

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.




wouu que exito

the truth to me also attracts a lot the attention of the series and the best thing is that it has a future with a good plot and well-designed characters, good post bro

Nice post! I've heard of this show, but didn't really know what it was about. Will have to check it out!

Looking great! And a very interesting read! I think one of the greatest parts about the series is how much detail and work goes into it, one good example is looking at different types of garnet (The actual gem, not the character) and how their colours mimic the different versions of Garnet.

Rebecca Sugar put a lot of work into this show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70