Syrian Civil War Horror - Painting of man carrying young girl

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians sharing with you a recent painting I did about Syrian Civil War.

IMG_20180126_130131093.jpg

Introduction

A man carries a young girl who was injured in a reported barrel-bomb attack by government forces on June 3, 2014 in Kallaseh district in the northern city of Aleppo. Some 2,000 civilians, including more than 500 children, have been killed in regime air strikes on rebel-held areas of Aleppo since January, many of them in barrel bomb attacks.

I do not know the exact source of the image I painted from. I picked it because I thought it would make a powerful painting highlighting the issues that people face on the other side of the world. We do not see it in our media much so I thought a painting might make people ponder and think about the issues a little more deeply. It is estimated that 400,000 have died in the Syrian Civil War

This was the process that went into creating it

IMG_20180116_111400314.jpg

A general pencil outline to paint on.

IMG_20180116_143706296.jpg

Painting the background in mostly greys.

IMG_20180123_101132273.jpg

Painting the focal point of the piece. His face will be the most detailed part of the painting.

IMG_20180126_130126783.jpg

Finished piece. It took me a total of about 15-20 hours to complete.

IMG_20180126_130131093.jpg

Thanks for reading this post and hope you liked the painting!

Follow @iansart

Sort:  

do not wait for it to happen near you, war does no good, lets appreciate peace.

You painting is amazing.
The picture itself being about the true story is tragic. This war will never ends. It’s so sad to see father carry his deceased child I assume she has past away based on fathers reaction.

Thanks @milano1113 it is awful everything that's happening in the world. The article that I read said she was injured so hopefully she's still alive today.

I’m glad I was wrong.

Powerful imagery. The emotions are striking.

Thanks for this fantastic painting and for helping us to be aware of what's happening. You've brought an extra dimension of life to the photo (although I haven't seen it) because you care about what's going on, and that comes out in your work. Also, I like your in progress images as well. Your work has progressed and improved over the last several months! Keep up the good work.

Thanks I'm glad you liked it and that my work had that affect. I feel like I've improved with practice over the past months on steemit and really admire all your artwork on here.

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47