Happy New Year and Sharing Portrait Drawing of The Joker!

in #art5 years ago (edited)

I'm starting 2020 by sharing a portrait drawing of the main character in my favourite film of 2019 - Joker. I have seen it three times all with different people! I will not give away spoilers but it is a refreshingly new film compared to most commercial films you see today and has an interesting descent into madness story of the main character Arthur Fleck. Joaquin Phoenix who plays him was also very good. I would definitely recommend watching it. The film inspired me to draw him before and after I watched it.

IMG-20191123-WA0006.jpg
steemit banner.png

The drawing below is from before I watched the film. It was quickly done with an emphasis on expressiveness rather than accuracy.
IMG-20191123-WA0002.jpg

This drawing was done after I watched the film and tried to focus on expressiveness by remembering the context of what he went through in the film while also maintaining the accuracy. He has quite an interesting asymmetrical face. In the reference photo I used one eye is more open than the other and his upper lip does not match his bottom lip. He has a very distinct look and can see why they chose him for the role.
IMG-20191123-WA0006.jpg
This was done on A3 paper and I used pen and pencil. It took me a few hours to do and I may go back to this drawing now that I have better pencils from Christmas.

steemit banner.png

Hope you enjoyed this post and wishing you a happy new year!

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1-1_2a.jpg

Hi Ian, you have created very good drawings, the first one I like the tired eyes and the lips for me looks like he experienced so much, you paid great attention to the wrinkles on face and neck.

The other one even though you said that it was a quick sketch but first this position 3/4 turn is one of the difficult as you need to be careful with eyes, their position, angulation and especially in drawing lip in this position requires a lot of precise measurement. Everything in this portrait is very well done.

I hope with new set of pencils we will see more work from you, of course in between your Art classes

Thanks for all of your postive feedback and I'm not doing art at uni btw I'm doing design engineering :)

Congratulations @iansart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 91000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 92000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I very like details! Great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74