The City - Previsualization - How To Piss Off The Art Director

in #art8 years ago

There Is No Accounting For Taste

I do a lot of freelance work for both games studios and film/video. I typically am an environmental / architectural artist. I have been working in 3D and special effects for 15 years. Working as a contractor can be a challenge as sometimes you get the crap work. I generally have good scores in works and plays well with others. Most of the people who hire me do so because of a reference or because I have a friend who is either producing or directing the project.

Because I often have personal relationships with the company and its leadership I often get some say in art direction. On this project I did this previsualizaton pass to give the art director a change to get a feel for the space and color scheme. It is almost a 100% on version of the concept art. While there are a lot of details that are still missing, it is close enough that it should be something they can work with until the final asset is done. I charge per asset and get paid upon acceptance. So major revisions I get paid for unless I just flat out missed the concept. In this case the art director hates me personally and has consistently rejected my work just because he can.

I Went Over His Head So Much He Is Getting Bald From Friction

Since he rejected my work so many times I called the Director who told me to submit to him and he would see that I get paid. This now has happened with this guy 15 times. I have a quality ethic and I tend to take this personally. If it was about me not hitting the concept art dead on for a pre vis then I would not be so angry. It seems to me that even if you don't like someone that should not override your judgement on art direction. Seems pretty petty.

I am doing my best to not get frustrated with this person. I am not going to tell you that this is my favorite piece of work it is okay for a pre vis. I am hoping the rest of this project gets easier. It is not worth the fight. Give me quality art direction and I will give you what you want. It is my job even if I don't like the concept.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65