Testing Chester - Character Concepting WIP

in #art7 years ago

Meet Chester

Chester 1.jpg

A while ago I got a chance to do all of the concept artwork for a proposed TV show. This show was being proposed to go into production in the fall and I am not sure at this point if it will or not. This is the first time that I have ever done concept work for a TV show and I had a tone of latitude in the work. I was responsible for creating a whole galaxy. I did many buildings, ships, and even characters. Chester is one of the tests that I have tried. He is a completely smart assed Robot.

Chester 2.jpg

The reason that I am showing just the bust in these images is because the director wanted to get some ideas for different humanoid robots to see if that was even the direction he wanted to go in. There was a chance that he was looking for a multimedial robot so he had me do some studies of humanoid robot faces.

Chester 3.jpg

I would have to say that doing character art is not one of my strengths so I was glad that I just had to submit some busts. Chester is one of several that I did.

Chester 4.jpg

I really could have done what is known as a turntable animation where the character spins in front of you so you can see what it looks like from various angles. For some reason the director was not interested in that and just wanted a series of stills.

Chester 5.jpg

For not being a character artist I don't think that these came out too bad. I wanted to have my son who is an awesome character artist do them for me but he was busy on a project already. So for what it is worth, this is my attempt at the bust of Chester.

Sort:  

How long does it take to invent a robot?

The bust took me about 2 hours to do. But I am not a very fast character modeler so other people could have done what you see much faster.

You are so good. I keep thinking this works for a long time :D

I want to have one

thanks for sharing... would you mind sharing that robot? lol... i want one

I see someone else mentioned that too.

Very cool, are we going to see a full body?

I suppose it would be possible. I was just contracted to do some busts. I will see if I can do something character modeling is not one of my strengths.

Looks very interesting! Do you use machine learning?

Not to create my artwork but I have done programing in AI languages like Prolog Lisp.

Ok, Prolog is usually used in artificial intelligence and computational linguistics.

I have used it for expert systems and to navigate large multidimensional arrays to find ways to normalize data.

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :)

Wow that looks fabulous..voted and followed wish you the same.I tried some poetry have a look hope you like it @funnystuff
Takecare 💐

I will check it out. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30