Sometimes you just have to put the world aside, grab your headphones, and travel to where the music takes you.

in #art8 years ago

Life As A Digital Artist

As some of you know, (Thank you dedicated followers!!) I am an artist who works in a few different types of media and subject matter. For me it is not limited to being a job. For me it has to be a way of life. In the practice of that I often spend 20 hours a day doing the types of things you have seen me post on here and much more.

During that time I need something to help keep me on task whether in practice, philosophy or spirit. There is a cost to living this way. It can drain you. To combat this I not only listen to music while I work. I also try to apply music to the work that I do. This helps inspire a mood and very often it inspires the shots and edits themselves.

A Matter Of Time And Tone

In the last two examples both had shots that were entirely done because the music dictated it. Often this is true with transitions in video because it really adds impact and a sense of synchronicity that helps to immerse us in the scene. I have to produce so much content that sometimes I do not have a clue on how I am going to cut something before I stage it. I often will consult the music that I am using to help me set a path. So much time, so much distance and the attitude set by the altitude.

The Reel Deal

This was won of my demo reel pieces for the past year. I was under pressure to submit something in a hurry and again I was lost. I let the music help me get some traction and I was able to get a halfway decent piece done in time. I think every artist would love to redo there reel but right now it will have to do.

But What About The Headphones You Ask

I have some very nice Bose reference monitors that are really great. I almost always feel confident in them to give a fairly good representation of what is going on. I do some tuning to my room to help. But when I really want to check just how flat something is I can always rely on my trust Microsoft USB headphones. For some reason they have remarkable and flat response. It may not be like earphones I have had in the past but they do the job and have been workhorses for me. They are like a security blanket. One that is well loved and worn. My ear pads are almost completely defrocked of their outer fabric but I find even though on occasion if I move just right they are starting to get staticky.... but just for a moment. I find it hard to replace them because we have been on a long journey together and they have carried me when I need them to.

I can only hope that you can find your pair of ear phones and let them give you inspiration. It makes me think of many great hours in the night listening to Pink Floyd. It probably inspired my creativity to this day. It became a way of life and one that has great meaning to me. So please do me a favor dear friend....

Put the world aside, grab your headphones, and travel to where the music takes you

Sort:  

If you like Pink Floyd, and perhaps Reggae, you may want to listen to
THE DUB SIDE OF THE MOON by the Easy Star All Stars

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72