You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Turning Point : The Early Days of Computer Art (1960s)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

You mention generative / parametric design. I am a digital artist and I often rely heavily on procedural functions to do things like generate waves and to distribute foliage. Things that would be very hard to do by hand. While I have various parameters that I can adjust the base function of the computer does influence what I see. So unlike a traditional media not all of the strokes on my virtual canvas are precognitively rationalized. I don't always know exactly what it will look like until it renders. While I do influence it heavily the computer definitely has it's own influence on my art.

In this image many things have been placed into this scene by procedural functions. While I had a general vision for set and setting I probably would not have had the organic success that I did without digital function.

Very interesting piece.

Sort:  

I remember this rendering of yours from a few months ago @iamwne (beautiful work)... you highlight some important points. While you're not using traditional materials, the attention and application of detail is just as unique. These digital landscapes you've rendered are a new stage in the evolution of craft. You start off with a blank canvas, just like a painter would.

I truly believe that In 50 years, artists will look back at renderings like yours in the same vein as we look back at the paintings of Mondrian or Monet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41