Displaced Art

in #art7 years ago

I Have Been Gone But Did Not Forget About Steemit

It has been a while since I have posted anything on here. I was on a large project for a television program doing environmental art and set extensions. That stuff I can't post but I can show some of the work that I did as R&D for one of the scenes.

Simply Complex

I needed to figure out a work flow for a few of the scifi shots for an episode. Usually modeling stuff like the picture would take a really long time using most 3D software. But I knew that Zbrush was a very different program than the rest I have in my tool chest of software.

Greebles To The Rescue

A greeble is generally a small part from a model of something that is used to add detail to the surface of a custom made model. The term greeble was likely coined at Industrial Light And Magic when the artists were building things like the large star destroyer models that were used in the movie. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greeble

This is an example of a simple greeble and the type of detail that it adds to a model quickly. While ILM used plastic pieces I use something called a height map. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heightmap

Heightmaps take the value of a pixels brightness and displaces the mesh of a model as seen below.

In my case these heightmaps were very detailed and also had to include aspects of color and shading to look real when composited into the scene.

And finally:

These images were all pretty much rendered in Keyshot Pro 6. I was surprised about the quality and speed of modeling this way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13