An Unreal Experience - Creating The Port of Tears - WIP

in #art7 years ago

Making An Unreality

HighresScreenshot00021.png

For long time now I have been meaning to learn the Unreal Game engine so that I can use it to make some of my architectural visualizations. In the past I have sort of struggled along with various parts of the Unreal Editor and I did not make very much progress. It feels a little intimidating seeing what other people manage to accomplish with Unreal when I could barely load one of my models in without errors.

HighresScreenshot00003.png

So I thought that I would invest some time into making a medieval port with a castle and a small village. Though very different, I got the idea for doing a sea port while watching a documentary that reconstructs Port Royal. Port Royal was an actual place that was governed by the British and was considered to be the sin city of its day.

HighresScreenshot00004.png

Port Royal was basically the base of operations for Privateers. These were essentially pirates that were often given a license to capture Spanish and other flagged ships and take their treasures. In exchange for this license the Private crew gave the crown a portion of the plunder and then kept the rest for themselves.

HighresScreenshot00020.png

Disney Gets It Wrong

While Mikey and crew paint Port Royal as an place without rules where there was massive drinking and debauchery there were a few rules that were followed and not everyone who lived there was a pirate or prostitute. There were many craftsmen there who were drawn by the riches of the British and the pirates. They ranged the gambit of tradesmen during the day and most made a very good living.

HighresScreenshot00019.png

A Work In Progress

So my intention is to make this into a demonstration piece for my studio. Eventually there will be a collection of cinematic sequences and I may actually publish the live walkthrough. But there is a lot to do. While the buildings are constructed in a modular fashion it will take time to make a large varriety of them along with putting in environment and props. As I am not a character artist the likely won't be people or animals animate in this project.

HighresScreenshot00023.png

HighresScreenshot00021.png

The Marina

Right now while I have added the castle and some custom buildings I have been focusing on building out the marina. This includes the docks, boats and seawalls. I would love any feedback that anyone has specially if they are good with Unreal. And as always, upvote, follow and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66