Aemeo Class Cruiser - A Model For Success

in #art7 years ago

A Model For Success

For me being a freelance artist I appreciate any tool that helps my productivity. For a while now I have been doing concept work for a possible TV show. I was supposed to be done with the project by now. I have gotten several additional images to create. We did very few concepts for space ships and the producers are looking for ideas. They really like that I can produce basic concepts and present them with a turntable so much faster now that I am using Redshift renderer. This is probably not what the final version will look like. It has some very basic materials on it.

For them it is more important to get a sense of how it might look on the screen or impact story. Since they have little context for story elements for this ship. They sort of decided that they need something about this size as a utility ship.

I have recently been playing around with a new set of tools to model things like this. Modo has a tool called Pfusion which is a hybrid of their very powerful Mesh Fusion tools coupled with the power of procedural modeling tools. The end result is a pretty complex model done in a very short time.

Aemgo Class Crusier.JPG

I am not thrilled with the render in Modo. It takes longer and it always seems to come out noisy for me. This image was a quick check render out of Modo that took almost as long to render as the whole animation did in 3ds Max using Redshift.

So for me part of the model of success in doing animation, modeling and special effects for others is to be able to produce high quality results quickly and at a cost savings. Being a freelance artist can be tough at times. I compete with people who have many more resources to bring to the table and so to distinguish myself in the marketplace I need to be able to be a go to person in a pinch.

Sort:  

I remember you now, man I haven't checked in on you for awhile, I've been remiss. You do amazing renderings. Makes me want to draw spaceships🚀

Well thank you. It is nice to have you be inspired at least in part to do some art by what I do. I love the creative process. I hope to encourage others when ever I can. Thanks for the positive comments.

I'm going to bug you from now on! I'm serious, I need to work on vehicles, you inspire me.

Bug me all you want. My staples are architecture and environment but I dabble in everything I can.

Ha! Thank you🐬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83