A View Of The Pilot's Seat -WIP

in #art7 years ago

pilot seat 5.jpg

Triumphant Return

I have recently been on hiatus. Once about every quarter my TV work gets done and I finally get a chance to step away from the computer for a while and take a much needed break. Usually by that time I really need it. I become creatively and physically exhausted. Very often I live for days on just a few hours of sleep partly because of insomnia and partly due to a million of last minute changes by panicky art and production directors trying to get their shows together in time for them to be submitted to the networks to be reviewed by the standards and practices department.

I am usually so exhausted by this point that I am am ready to drop so even my architecture work stops. It does not matter that I still need to make some money, it is simply time to rest. So for those of you who follow me I have not quit Steemit. I am just taking a break. I usually try to publish something as much as possible because participation on the system is both fun for me and a nice way to earn a bit more off of my design work.

Smoke And Mirrors

In the 20 years or so that I have done computer graphics I have plenty of designs for Sci-fi items including space ships. Though it had occurred to me that while I have done space ship exteriors and interiors I have not ever had a project that allowed me to do both. I have never done a whole ship. Often I do things to make it look like there is a busy cockpit by compositing in images. It just does not pay to do a fancy interior that no one will see. It takes enough time to do what I am working on in the first place and most of the time I really have to produce quickly.

Challenging Myself

pilot seat 3.jpg

Pilot Seat 7.jpg

So to that point after playing Star Citizen for a week or so I have decided to warm up and back into the swing of things by doing both the interior and exterior of a ship. This time I am starting out by designing the pilot's station. I wanted to do something unique. The images that you see to this point are a work in progress. I need to work on several of the materials and a lot of detail work yet just to get the seat finished. The pictures that you see posted took about a day to complete.

I started by blocking out the majority of what you see in The Foundry's Modo 11.1. It has some great modeling tools. I would not say that it I like their rendering system so to capture these images I brought the meshes and textures into Autodesk 3ds Max and rendered them in Corona Renderer. Somehow I always end up with noise and other artifacts out of Modo. I see people who do great work in Modo but I can't seem to pull it off. So I go with what I know will work.

Once Again Into The Breach Dear Friends

So in summary I am back to work. I am starting to get back on my creative feet again and hopefully I can begin to participate in the system again.

I want to thank those of you who follow me. I love feedback and this community is great about providing it. So please leave a comment. And while you are at it, please consider following me, upvoting and or resteeming my work. If you have a sci-fi art fan lead them to my work.

Thanks again, and it is good to be back.

Sort:  

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84