"My Boom Box" - An Original Vector Digital Art and Build GIF by @i-am-wade

in #art7 years ago

My First Art Submission


"My Boom Box"

By @i-am-wade


Music has always played a major role in my life. As a kid, playing in school gave me the foundation to form my own bands as a teenager. The nights during my college years were a blur of bars and clubs, pounding bass, battle dancing and insane raves before "rave law" was a thing here in the States. Even after college, DJ-ing private parties during the height of the Florida Breaks era proved to be quite the profitable third job. Back when DJ's did more than just push buttons. Although I am all grown up now, I still play the drums at least once a day sometime after my first cup of coffee just to get my creative juices flowing. To say I couldn't live without music would be an understatement. "My Boom Box" is a tribute to all the dark days a song raised my spirits when nothing else could.

"Music hath charms to soothe the savage beast"

- William Congreve

Although I have Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator, I chose to use Expression Design for this project. Expression Design is a vector design software forged around xaml. Microsoft eventually migrated web graphic design of this nature into the VS and Azure line and discontinued the Expression suite. I believe it is now available for free. For those not familiar with the software, it is extremely powerful and has some unique abilities such as how the software renders vector gradients and blending of effects and brushes, in someways, surpass even Illustrator. Before all my art peeps go crazy on me for that last statement, let me clarify, Illustrator is still the more powerful tool. I really wanted to blend the concept of 3 dominant styles including crispy texture (in the dirt), brush work (in the sky) and finally the over simplification of the cartoon-like "boom box" illustration. I just felt Expression would give me a better ability to do all of these things in one place vs. splitting up the work between two different programs.

Check out the build!




Thank you for taking a moment to view my work!


IF YOU ENJOYED THIS POST

Sort:  

Go #TeamUSA
You deserve my vote.

@Yehey

Fantastic - upvoted and followed

Thanks! I really appreciate you taking a second to check out my work. Following and may I say your oils are awesome! Thanks again.

I started out with a record player that played 45s in 1960 and I would play those records until they wore out so I can relate to you and music. Seems like all of my life memories have some kind of song or music that reminds me of that time.

Music is like a time machine for me. When I hear something I haven't heard in 20 years it will just take me back to some memory like it was yesterday. It's crazy how a song can just take you back in an instant like that! Thanks for checking out my post @rt66neon .

Great post @iamwade! Music is so influential - it can absolutely take you from one state of mind to another in mere seconds - great post and I look forward to seeing more of your art! Your image itself is very dynamic and bold. I like the compositional choices and how you used the blue color of the LCD screen in the boom box as a strong focal point. Other elements like the antennae and the shadow help move the user through the composition, going up and out then being pulled back in with the shadow. The complementary color scheme creates a nice visual contrast and a striking color palette! Very nice - keep em' coming!

Thank you so much for your kind words about my piece! I have many more projects in the works that I will be completing and posting here soon. I really enjoyed designing this pieces and glad you enjoyed it! Thanks again.

You're welcome - I really like seeing your creativity and your style is awesome - truly awesome! Thank you for sharing :) BTW - what is your favorite music?

That's a tuff one! I have listened to SO many styles and have been involved in the making of so many different types of music, putting a finger on any one over the others would be almost impossible. In school I was classically trained as a trumpeter and competed all over the country marching and performing with my high school. Although I also played guitar and bass, after high school I was the drummer in a ska punk metal band. This was all before discovering the club/rave culture during my college years which led to my dj-ing years spinning deep jungle d&b, progressive, up-beat female vocals over break-trance and Florida breaks. Now I listen to a little bit of everything as they all transport me back in time and help me to remember all the great and down-right insane times I've had over this crazy life that I am ever so greatful to be exploring still. So nope! No real favorite above all else but I'll keep hunting through all the music I can find until I do find a favorite. You can count on that!

Thats freakin' awesome dude! The DJ-ing is really cool - I bet that was a lot of fun! How awesome to have such amazing memories!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by i-am-wade from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45