My Photorealism Drawing Progession

in #art6 years ago

Daniel Giunta
Kanye West Portrait
18x24 In
Charcoal on Paper

steem_3.jpgsteem_2.jpgsteem_1.jpg

Progression I

I like the begin each drawing by creating a grid upon my canvas. Being an experienced graphic designer, I see each image as a grid, which I then recreate with my hand much like pixels on a screen. This also helps me focus on the image as a whole, allowing me to trust my hand as I dive into fine details later on.

Progression II

After applying a grid on both the digital image and my canvas, I then contour out the shape of the body, working from large to small. As A righty, I try and work from the top right of the page, assuring my hand won't smudge the charcoal I've already applied.

Progression III

Once I outline the features, I then focus on the light and shadow upon the form. It's best to study the whole form and mark the lightest and darkest area of your drawing. Once I evaluate, I then begin to apply a very light gray, as even the lightest areas still has a percentage of darkness. I continue to shade by working light to dark, through multiple techniques.

Still working it out, but the rest will comes soon!

Thanks for viewing stay in touch for update shortly

Sort:  

Love your drawing process especially the grid technique. Does it help you stay true to proportions? Upvoted and followed.

Yes! I always use a grid to keep proportions accurate. It especially helps once the shading process begins, I can trust myself more!

Nice textures yo

such impressive drawing @humanalpaca, keep on posting! Also, tell the story behind your choice of your steemit name ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43