First Wood burning project, a Peony on mystery wood

in #art7 years ago

When I first tried wood burning I remember getting my pen for Christmas as a young kid, probably between the ages of 10-12(I'm 31 now for reference). It came with these horrible pre-printed pieces of wood with crazy grain lines and I remember the roughness of the edges so very clearly. The pen...Oh the pen...It was red with a black grip. It took a millennia to heat up and when it finally got to a temperature that would work well with the evil wood panels, it got too hot to comfortably hold just as you were a few minutes into the project. We also didn't have very good internet at that time (we lived outside the metro area) and inspiration was hard to find, so sadly I gave up on my little wood burner and frankly am not sure what happened to it.

Fast forward to today when everything is about the latest technology I look for things that I don't have to plug in to for entertainment and am revisiting a lot of the art mediums that I learned as a youngster but never mastered. Browsing the addicting aisles of Michael's I came across the Walnut Hollow Versa-Tool and thought about my first experience. The memory was surprisingly fond and I decided that I wanted to have the burner. My sister actually gifted me one for Christmas and I was surprisingly excited to open it even though I had asked for it specifically. I took to YouTube and watched a ton of pyrography videos, but didn't start using my new toy right away.

But last night I said that's enough waiting and pulled it out to start this WIP. IMG_20180129_195436_994.jpg It's not my drawing, just a google image that I found when searching peony drawings. The wood is a mystery, I bought it for $3 at Dollarama and it has a weird fill/glue mark on it but I figured "whatever, it's my first project" and went to town.

It was so, pleasant, to actually sit down and concentrate on. I suppose the feeling would be similar to when using an adult coloring book. The smell was very nice as well, almost like a tiny campfire smell as you worked. It's no where near perfect, as you can see by the wide scorch marks but I am pretty pleased with it. I plan to add some more fine details to the petals.

I am also thinking of adding color using watercolors (GASP...another art medium, and one I haven't used at that). I have seen a few pieces on Instagram using paint to accentuate the colors and I thought they were really beautiful.

I'll be posting the image again once I figure out how to actually USE watercolors haha.

Also, if this is something I will spend more time on I can absolutely see myself buying a fancier burning system. The Versa-Tool has a temperature control, which is great, but it's like 10 inches from the pen so it's knocking you on the arm while you're trying to make a smooth controlled line. Not a very good design, but it's not really a high end model. The Razor tip system looks sexyyyy, as sexy as a wood burner can be anyways. Yes, I am aware that I started this post off about less technology and plugging in...but the end goal would be the finished piece, please don't judge me.

Horror Llama

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58