OriginalArt. Esquist Corpse OilPastel

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Afternoon, it is where I am at anyways, I thought that I would put up some of my work from last year. This is an 38in x 49in, oil pastel work, well I guess it would actual be mixed media due to the fact that it has oil pastel, colored pencil, acrylic paint, and a little bit of gouache.

This is the study I did first for the larger work, it was actually quite an interesting project for an advanced drawing class at college.

This is how it originated members of the class all had large newsprint and a chunck of charcoal, the newsprint was divided into thirds in the portrait orientation.

Next, every member would have 3min to draw an image of their choice, after the time was up we would all rotate to another easel, starting where the last person stopped we would choose a line of their drawing and then the process would repeat for another 3min, this was repeated until the paper had three images all connected as one.

This whole process was done over and over until everyone had at least 5 sheets of newsprint complete with images. From there we were to select 3 of them and create 3 unique drawings.

After that we were to put them on a smaller 24 x 36 sheet of Bristol paper in ink and color these are the ones I created:

After that we were to put all 3 images into a single composition using oil pastel as the main medium, other mediums were allowed but oil pastel was to be the core of the work. This is the image that I came up with, I will tell you oil pastel is a fun medium to work in but a with a work of this size it is not easy (or fun at times) I do not think oil pastel would be my choice for this size of work again but as with everything else in life it was an experience.

Carl Hoover exquisite corpse narrative.jpg

20170224_030617.jpg

That is my story for this work.

Thanks for viewing, please upvote and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70