Fabricated Daisy Pendant and Today's Tunes

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Happy Friday!

Along with wire wrapping, I also like to fabricate jewels from sheet metal. This piece is made from copper and has silver rivets. Its design is directly influenced by my love for the beauty of nature. I draw endless inspiration from the wild land around me.

image.jpeg

To make this piece, I sawed 22 gauge sheets of copper and connected them with silver. I oxidized the piece in the middle to create a stark contrast in the daisy shapes.

Today's tunes~

Judy Mowatt- Thank You Lord

Marcia Griffiths- Children of Israel

Two of my all time favorite reggae ladies.

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

reggae and jewellery, good combo. nice piece. always a winner with copper!

Thanks! It's one of the main things that I listen to while working on my pieces. Keeps me in that mellow mood :)

Very nice!! I do a different kind of fabrication recycling tin, copper and silver! I use plated copper and silver trays, bowls, etc that I get from 2nd hand stores. I wanna move into stamping em but dun have the tools yet! I also do with wrapping!!

That sounds awesome! I love the idea of repurposing things to make jewels with. There's something really fun about giving an old object new life.

Yes there is!! I also will use old vintage jewelry parts in new works too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58