"Night of the Living Turtles" acrylic painting

in #art7 years ago

I wanted to do a painting that had kind of spooky vibe to it, without it being spooky at all. I've always been a fan of horror movies and zombie flicks, and was trying to create that same tense "it's coming" feeling without it being a horrofic subject. I decided to go with these sweet little baby turtles making there way from the beach to ocean, which can be a pretty terrifying endeavor for these little cherubs. Here are a couple shots of my progress into the final piece.
this is the beginning stage, I always like to start with the background or whatever is furthest back and slowly work my way forward on the piece
18013827_293126621130127_4079488511881773056_n.jpg
after laying down base colors I begin to add little bits of details. Things are still pretty sloppy looking in this stage.
18251730_760427380801674_5336679659088117760_n.jpg
and after adding all my colors and details I can finally move on to adding all the black, it really helps add a crispness to the piece and I can more seriously establish my values with shading. Then before I know it I'm finished, and I can go back and add white highlights if I feel like it's necessary.
night.of.the.living.turtles.jpg
Hope all you steemers enjoy this piece and make sure to follow if you want to see more!

Sort:  

Haha these are some killer turtles !

excellent write up this is so sweet! I wish I had a poster of this to put up for real! that evil turtle smile though lol

thank you! I'm still working on setting up an etsy shop, but I will have this one available on prints. I'll put something up about it once I have it running.

We LOOOVE your adorable artwork. It's GOOOOD.

Nice work, I love turtles! Upvoted/following :)

thank you! I love them too. you are artwork is fantastic by the way

Thanks, your's is too! So many talented people on steemit :)

cool illustration :)

Good going! Keep up the good work :)

wow, you are realy talented. i have to check out more of your work!

thank you @bronkong, I appreciate it!

Brilliant job , I'm new in steemit I'm happy to see how much creative I find around ,

it's everwhere! welcome

@honeycombwinnie @mughalmirza Who really painted this? It has been posted by two people. I smell something fishy...

If you look @honeycombwinnie's post was posted 2 days. ago. @mughalmirza's was posted 20 hours ago. Looks like @mughalmirza has got some explaining to do.

thanks for bringing this up, i probably would have never noticed. I'm the artist behind it, i don't know what @mughalmirza is trying to pull, but i'm going to report them once i figure it out

@honeycombwinnie Cool, glad I'm not going crazy. I'd be curious to learn what you find out once you have gotten it sorted.

all I really figured out was that, that post got flagged along with many others they were plagiarizing. I wish they got there account shut down, but I'll take the small victory I guess. Hopefully they won't do it again, but it seemed like a little bit of a slap on the wrists. Thanks again for the heads up @yourservice, greatly appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49