Jellyfish Parfait acrylic paintingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

It's a little hot outside, so I decided to paint something a little refreshing and fun. This is my painting of a Jellyfish Parfait, why a jellyfish parfait? because parfaits are a delicious summertime treat and because jellyfish (with such a tasty name) really should have a more appetizing look.

I started with the background (well after the outline) and decided for a look of movement and direction to go with that bubble burst in the lower left hand corner with shafts of color, going from a light blue into a bright green pushing up and outward.
18581436_1076620939139422_6349955108133928960_n.jpg

I decided to make the jellyfish purple, purple goes nicely with blue because they're not so far off from each other on the color wheel but at the same time in has a nice pop against the green that gives it that vibrant look and feel. I also added more bubbles around the bottom left to really give it that bursting outward pushing feel.
18888720_445113839202677_1254010101153398784_n.jpg

I gave this one a real mix of shading. I chose dot shading on the actual jelly because jellyfish don't have a heck of a lot of natural shade to them, but I still wanted something to give it some contrast between all the moving parts. I made sure to give a blended shade on the parfait portion though, it helps give them more of a 3D effect and overall more of a real fruit feel, and I wanted it to look some what tasty. I put in a bunch of white line work to finish up the bubbles and really help bring them out against the background without using any black that might make them look heavy and unnatural. I had a lot of fun painting this one and I hope you guys enjoy it! If you dig my work please give me a follow and I'll have some more stuff up soon enough.
jellyfish_parfait.jpg

Sort:  

Oh WOW! Fun is definitely the word here! Love theinteraction of the colours and the preciseness of this. I love jellyfish too, which helps of course. Upvoted, and you have a new admirer following you.

awesome! always great to hear somebody likes your stuff, hope you have a grea day @elaine54

oh yes, keep it coming!

Your paintings look like their worth a lot of money! Keep posting!!

thanks man! we'll see what the future holds

Hey this is awesome work. I am following you now to enjoy much more of your creative flair . Thanks and have a steemy day !

thank you @sallybeth23! hope you have a steemy day as well

this is like Disney land feeling,bravo!

thanks @dixonloveart, glad you like it

Yummy! Great idea very well executed! I haven't tried fun ideas like this in a while. I should! I've been too focus on my on going comic. Leaves very few moments of free expression. I'll get to that soon. Congrats for finishing this awesome piece!

ahh! I've always wanted to do a comic, or maybe a childrens book. good on you for sticking with a project!

follow for follow @dkinx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65