Forging a copper leaf ring!

in #art7 years ago

Decided to make my first Steemit post!! I wanted to make something I have made before but, this time a bit bigger.
IMG_3840.JPG
It's started with a 1/4 inch by 3 1/2 inch square piece of copper. From that I I began to form the leaf head.
IMG_3831.JPG

Then I moved to rounding out and thinning the tail end.
IMG_3832.JPG

After that I began flattening the leaf head, chiseling the marks in the leaf and putting a curl on the end. This is on of my favorite parts of the whole process!!! IMG_3833.JPG

Then I started wrapping it around my ring sizer to make it from straight to ring shaped! IMG_3835.JPG

Once I got it shaped to the correct size all that was left was to clean it up with a wire brush, some sand paper and a small buffing wheel, and TA-DAAA!!! All complete!!!! IMG_3840.JPG

Hope you enjoyed!! Thanks for reading!!

Sort:  

Awesome work! I love the pictures as you went along, very well done post. These are some of my favorite types of posts. Following in hopes of seeing more. Keep up the good work!

Thanks glad you enjoyed!!

That looks awesome, you did a good job. I have been looking at making rings out of half dollars. Look forward to seeing what you come up with next.

I have looked at trying that! The ones I have seen are really cool. Maybe some time down the line I will try it and make a post.

I am following you now so hopefully you do make one.

That is so cool! Amazing talent! Can't wait to see more!

Congratulations @holyrockforge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Excellent job. We look forward to seeing the next instalment 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51