You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BioShock 2 Fan Art | Johnny Topside

in #art5 years ago

Cool scene. It looks as if the slug caused quite an impression.
It actually made me remember a river fish I used to catch when I was little.
We'd go to the river and get our hands through the rocks and vegetation by the river bank. It was risky but fun. When the water was muddy you never knew what you'd touch.

We called it Guaraguara, they are of the Loricariidae family.
I liked the composition of your art. The light effects are great.

Sort:  

Ooh that fish! Does the name Guaraguara have an English translation? Or is it just a name? I'm asking because in my place we call it Sapu-Sapu. The literal translation of "sapu" would be "broom", but the name "Sapu-Sapu" means something like "cleaning", named after their habit of eating algae in the fish tank.
Playing outside like that I don't mind getting injuries, really, what I can't stand is accidentally touching something slimy, squishy, wiggly like... I don't know, an alien? XD

The only time when I can acknowledge my own skill is when somebody else says that my artwork is good. In this case, I wasn't so sure and confident about my lighting, so I'm glad that you think it's great. Thank you for that ^^

Interesting.
Guaraguara may very well be an indigenous word. I don't know, but coincidentally, the fish is also known as chupa piedra, stone sucker, because it sticks to stones undet water

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65900.16
ETH 3470.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68