WOOD CARVED SKATEBOARD ART

in #art5 years ago (edited)

jefflittle-artcover.png

I recently went on a trip to Austin Texas for South By Southwest and I made a mini doc about the artist Jeff Little! His work is original and he speaks with passion!

Please watch and enjoy,

CARVED SKATEBOARD ART by JEFF LITTLE

CARVED SKATEBOARD ART by JEFF LITTLE
at Yellow Jacket Social Club in Austin Texas
March 2019

Directed & Edited by Brian McGuire

Sort:  

Whoa, Austin, Texas, having art at all? What alternate universe do we live in!... Just kidding, that sounds and looks cool in my head skateboard art. Considering half the reason buy skateboards is the æsthetic of a board (and the other half for performance and ease for the user). Also let’s enjoy this micro-doc (mini-documentary for those in the future or past), just lemmy get the popcorn now!~

The video: Before we get to the documentary aspects of this video, at least one thing is for absolute certain: the time length respects micro-documentary times. Moving on, I like that with the base video we get smooth transitions to other clips and see many parts of our maufacturer’s/handicraft’s life - like a spice of variety of life. Equally so, we get shots to the personal life and work life; all done in clear/sharp footage, with good details in the background, nice capturing of the prime details we should be looking at and the director, Brian McGuire, did a great job with directing our attention even in post production. Hats off!~

Documentary: Let’s say that the audio is hearable and not too quiet nor too loud. Also I could hear our main person of interest clearly, dunno where the mic was placed but that matters not except that the audio quality was good. Moving on, whether he was telling answers all throughout and we didn’t hear the questions or told to simply talk about his work, he was delivering his points across quite great. Good on yah picking out /curating relevant examples so it make his description of his life stronger. Also that really does sound, with what we saw in the micro-doc, that his life is time-consuming but worthy of his heart. So good for him, let’s hope skateboards stay around for quite a great while!~

So congratulations on the @curie upvote, keep on making documentaries that are small and happy steeming!

Wow and thanks for everything! Your review is amazing and kind! it really is always wonderful to hear such great words about our micro-mini doc! and yes a super thanks to @curie for the upvote!! truly means the world!!! again, i am blown away by your review!! So great!

Welcome for the comment! ~^^~
Glad yah think me humble review so glamorously and so nice to read~ Here here to more mini-docs from yah and yer people over there!~
Thanks for sharing this mini-doc once again!~

I'm really glad I've bumped into your post. This is totally new to me, I've never seen such art, actually I had no idea that exists. Jeff Little is a great artist, judging from the carved boards I've seen in the video. He's working with passion and as a skater he has a special connection to skateboards. The most amazing part of the video is when he says we can see four years of his work on the wall. Who would have taught? I know carving in wood takes time and art can't be rushed but even so, this little detail gives you and idea how precious those boards are not only to him.
I like the footprint one the most :)

Glad you found this post too! As far as I or Jeff knows, he might be the only one doing this kind of work on skateboards. rad that you skate! i learned many ways of living from skating. Jeff's work is awesome! glad to meet you as well! keep in touch!

I knew his work is rare but haven't thought he's the only one. I've see others painting skateboards and surfboards but not carving. Anyway, good luck to him :)

I love his work as it is just different and unique. It makes sense using skateboards as it was a big part of his life. I have never seen anything like this before and his work is just so original. I can understand how long it takes for each one and when he mentioned it is four and a half years of work on the wall it hits home his dedication to this art.

Jeff is a lovely man and his work is wonderful! thanks for watching and I am super glad you found Jeff and his work interesting!!

Great documentary. Wood carving is a beautiful art. I had never seen it asociated to something like scateboarding. Cool
I think that most sculptors have had this sort of realization where the material somehow reveals its content and jsut asked to be pulled out.
It's like the writer who all of a sudden is hit by story that begs to be written.
I loved the cat. I have a black one too, but that bastard does not let me play with him. I've fed him since he was born, but he would carve my face if i get him anywhere near it. :)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Jeff's art! i like what you said! the story finds the artist perhaps! Jeff's cat is awesome! i hope your cat turns kind for you!

Wow!
Some people are just extremely talented, I still can't believe my eyes while watching it, it's really a nice art. Jeff little is a great artist, thanks for sharing this!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aw man I will make sure Jeff sees this! thank you kindly!! and I agree.

Yes truly! Jeff rules and so does his art! i am happy to have made this!!

You did good kiddo :)

Hi hilladigahackles,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

thank you @curie you truly rock!!

Wauw, it really looks awesome @hilladigahackles! I believe there are many people out there with special talents like this guy. Thanks for bringing this into attention! Now we all know about it ;)

Thank you so kindly for watching! And yes it is always great to find interesting art in this world!

You’re welcome! Thanks again for sharing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @hilladigahackles,
awesome video. Besides the superb design of the deacks, OH MY GOD, I wish i have one, I like the emotional touch of your video.

But I also have to say if I would get one I would not use it as my longboard/skateboard deck, because it is art. I would rather hang it on the wall.

Keep up the good work buddy!
Cheers,
M

yeah these decks are not really skate ready. only wall ready! super cool art indeed!!

Man that was fucking awesome.As a skateboarder myself, I love the fact that one puts so much time love and effort in something that's so creative and related to skateboarding.
Awesome art bro and awesom fs flips and airs out of that megaramp.Huuuuuuge pop.
Mad respects bro.
My favourite one was the the Spitfire necklace, so sick and stylish.

yes yes yes! glad you got hyped on this!! i love it just the same! Jeff Little rules!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75