Portrait Study 2 | Oil Painting

in #art6 years ago (edited)

portrait study hiddenbladey.jpg


So here I am again with another portrait study, of course, a self portrait cos that's gonna be my forever subject in my art. Basically as a lazy ass student before, I've always passed mediocre projects so right now I'm struggling with proportions in drawing and I feel like I need to go back to Drawing 101. lol.

Anyway, I'm gonna share with you the process on how I messed up my life painting.


1.JPG
I used acrylic paint to draw some basic lines. (I know it doesn't resemble me at all lol)

2.JPG
Then started to put some shadows and a bit of highlights.





Then I started painting the face. Yes, face looks like it was punched. Life punches us everyday tho.But come on, that's oil. You can blend it out later on.

3.JPG



Added a bit of details and blended the skin.

4.JPG


Then I realized the other eye is incorrect so I adjusted it but I also realized it's still wrong and I think it looked better before but whatever XD There are just some things that we don't go back to. I'll just move on to the next step. lol

5.JPG


Added more details.

6.JPG

7.JPG





portraitstudy hiddenbladeyyyy.jpg

And that's the "finished" work. I didn't bother to put on details on other parts because I'm focusing on the face. I also didn't bother to put anything on the background because I like it when it looks unfinished but is actually finished. I mean, come on it's just a study! :)

Sort:  

So pretty! It has an amazing warm glow to the piece and it really pops visually! Was a fun read too I liked your lined out words =p

Thank you! I don't even know the lines are fun to read hahaha!

If I ever get to meet you and paint by your side I'll be the happiest person in the universe. Period.

That's so sweet. Thank you! If that ever happened I would be happy too :D

I'm gonna make you famous

Not too famous ok hahaha

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

It’s a nice study :).
And your face shows a lot of expressions, not really sure why you described it as being punched though 😂.

-upvoted-

Because it looks swollen. Haha thank you scrawlyyy :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Really awesome, hiddi! .... I love how you work with forms and colours. You have this boldness in your artwork that's very appealing and feminine <3 Amazing oil paint piccar * ___ * I love your expression here also, seems like you're about to say your opinions or hot takes on someone unsuspecting.... XD

Thanks! I hadn't even realize it myself. Hahah yep, I was squinting cos of the sun XD

Great study. I like your colors. The face looks really great! Please check my work https://steemit.com/cervantes/@peggydiaz/sr-conejo-painting-poetry

Your portrait turned out really well. Were you working from a photo or just winging it?

Love your commentary. Haha.

From a photo. I haven’t even mastered human anatomy so how can I paint it without a reference lol I’m not good at live paintings as well, it makes me anxious 😂 thanks hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05