You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I hate my life

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Sounds like it's time to re-evaluate, friend. Sit down and consider all your options, even if they seem foolish or far-fetched. Start to analyze what it is that make YOU happy and what you would enjoy doing with your life. Research how you can make a living doing what you want (or at least support yourself while pursuing your interests). People make too big of a deal about working and making money; what's the point of living if we don't enjoy it, am I right? Now that you are on steemit, perhaps you can begin to make those positive changes to your life; you will find support in this community.

I know it all sounds easy on paper. I've been through the struggle of depression; it ate away at me for years. And it wasn't an easy or quick recovery, but I found myself happier when I wasn't living by the expectations or goals set by others. I began to pursue MY dreams and shape my life how I wanted. Years later, I can only look back and realize how happy I am that I began to look inward at my own wishes and dreams.

Don't let shitty jobs or goals imposed by others hold you back.

Sort:  

This is an awesome response. Thank you, brother. I feel like steemit and this whole crypto community has the power to change the World. I feel this way because it is akin to the Internet. But I feel people are more supportive here, especially. Idk what it is exactly that makes it so but perhaps it has something to do with people just wanting to help others for the sake of helping others. Sure, money helps facilitate this, but it is new money. It removes the need of it and makes it fun again, putting the individual in control with them holding the power.

But yes, you're right. I need to focus on what makes me happy and not worry about working and money so much. It's something I need to work on. With that said, I worry about making rent and bills, etc. But that just feels so effing boring to me. I don't know. A lot of me just wants to email my manager and either quit straight up or put in my two weeks and figure it out from there. Which seems counter-intuitive, but i haven't done anything for 2 years, so maybe it's the fear i need.

People really are more caring and supportive here; even disagreements and disputes are generally rather civil. It's a nice change from other social media outlets that have become rather toxic over the past couple years. Whatever the case, hopefully it lasts!

Yeah, worries like bills, rent/mortgage, medical care, etc, those never go away, but they do become more manageable. Maybe it's just the fact that I'm more positive now and generally happier, but I stress about these worries a lot less. Sure, some months I cut it pretty close on paying bills, but I think the fact that I enjoy life more balances out the stress and doesn't let it overwhelm me. Even the best keepers in my profession barely make enough to live on, but there is a very low turn-over rate because we are doing what we love; we aren't in it for the money. Even if it makes life MORE challenging, changing your life can be good for your mental health. Just having fun and a positive outlook on your life can make these problems trivial (my wife and I joke that if all else fails, we just move into a trailer park or something; we'll still find a way to live life happily).

You don't necessarily have to quit your job to start the change either! Just start deciding what direction you want to go in. Your outlook on your job may even improve; sure it might still be the same crappy job, but at least now you have some idea what you are working towards and the job feels a little more worthwhile. It's one of those things that doesn't happen overnight (changing your whole life is a huge deal) but it's totally worth the effort!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59324.20
ETH 2585.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47