Whidby Abbey: fountain pen miniature

in #art7 years ago

97CBCC23-F82B-42A8-A317-3BA6D7A67C74.jpeg

I have a love affair with cathedrals.

It’s my dream to someday be able to visit a slew of them, and play music within their hallowed walls.

This is Scotland’s Whidby Abbey (sometimes spelled Whitby). It was a 7th century Christian abbey that later became a Benedictine abbey. It was ransacked during Henry VIII’s “dissolution of monasteries” and was later left to ruin.

Even in its’ wreckage, I still think it is a beautiful place, and would one day like to visit. I love how the ink washes turned out on such a small canvas (the artwork itself is just a tad larger than a business card). I feel like they accurately capture the mood and lighting of this abandoned place.

Check this one out on my Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/listing/563111902/whidby-abbey-miniature?ref=shop_home_active_8

Sort:  

Very nice. Love the coldness of it. The size is just bonkers. Respect.

Thanks! Miniatures are fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68