You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mental Spew #1 - Embrace The Chaos

in #art6 years ago

Yes very good! Like the crop circled eyes!! Also highlighing certian words in the script to go with the picture is perfect! I seem to relate what you are saying here. Keep up the great work!!

Sort:  

Hey @havok777. Thanks very much for your feedback. I am pondering it and you make some good points. I want to get AS MUCH quality feedback as possible as to what people are getting from these images (and the words). As I have planned this series for a while I think that with the parameters I have set I now have the ability to pull this off in a way which I can feel confident about, AND whick maintains my artistic originality. As you can see, my style of writing (including all-caps words, disemmbling of parts of words with hyphens, and other "techniques") are "my style" applied to the words. Now I finally figured out a way to apply my style to the images as well. As we have discussed recently, my aim is to use the comments section of this series as a "artistic forum" of sorts to try and get some technical and aesthetic feedback. This is one of thing "magical powers" of Steemit, I think - that is, that it provides a place where we artists can create an "online artist workshop group" where we can analyze and offer feedback so that everyone wins. I plan to try to touch on some key points of the content creation (especially of the images) ONLY AS they fit into the flow of the writing. For instance, some commentary on some of the motif "objects" I am using in the pieces, and some reasons why. Also, as I am creating the second post of the series I am realizing that it is all about the process. That is, I am setting myself the pace of "one post per week", as this seems to be the ideal pace for me to GRADUALLY collect images for the montage, and build each piece one element at a time through the week. That is, as I get input from "the world", meditate on them, and then find image-snippets which I think represent what's going on in my mind (however bizarre and/or non-linear) these pieces need a GOOD WEEK to take proper shape. I am also hoping that during the week which the post is active I can use any of the interesting comment feedback to discuss the artwork, process, etc. In this way it is a DYNAMIC process. This relates to what we discussed recently about the VALUE of the comments section - especially as the comments can also be monetized, and so that income can help fund the artistic process (so that one can focus on making art instead of promoting it). It may also likely be the case that I will be able to use some of the comments on the posts in THIS series in my OTHER series on "Weekly Comments". So there is a grander "method to the madness" here, which benefits everyone. Interesting that you interpretted a link between the eyes and the crop circles. I had not thought of this, and will meditate on this and what deeper meaning that has for me personally, AND potentially for the viewer as well. This is EXACTLY the kind of quality feedback I am looking for - those things which the AUDIENCE is seeing that I MYSELF am not even aware of. In this way, the art becomes more of a COLLECTIVE process. YOUR "glitch art" series served the function of seeing someone who had created in INTERESTING FORMAT whereby to produce a consistent flow of images with the writing. I am doing a VARIATION of that shell format - with more "collage" type art, at a slower (weekly) pace, and with my own style applied to BOTH the images (original) and the words (original). I think this is a winning formula for me, and am interested to see how it evolves. I will continue to read your daily posts and upvote all of them. That will give me some more input each day as I work on my weekly post. Your nice $1.00+ upvote on this new series post is MUCH APPRECIATED, and (unless you object) I will post the link to each new weekly post (from this series) in the comments section of one of your posts on the day I publish. Your JUICY upvote would be much welcomed (and I will hopefully get a few other dolphins to update the weekly posts of this series - plus SteemFollower) in that I can focus on the art process. This series also allows me to spend soe time each day doing more research about collage art, digital art, etc. and so it should be interesting to see how things evolve with this with each passing week... Keep up the good work...

Yes, I like the montage take. I was thinking these sort of projects could warrant a film of the works shown in succession or something like that. Also my friend here found an element I didn't see, which was the textiles mirrors along with the crop circles. She didn't notice the eyes at first glance. We collaborated with each other to decipher your picture a bit. It was a fun time! Glad to find some enthusiastic people involving their audience and other artists into their art form. Social media warrants it for sure. Co-collaborative art has been going on the Digital age, suppose there are a few takes to go about it.

Or at least they look like tiny mirrors

Yes. All of this feedback is VERY helpful. I think you are going to find the next piece to be one step further up the ladder of interesting. I am introducing one or two new motif elements (and totally having my way with them) in each piece) and it will be interesting to see the evolution. I'm actually SURPRISING MYSELF with the next one, and it is a DAMN FUN to channel some of my existential angst into something that will HOPEFULLY activate people. Stay tuned. As always, I am ready as many of your posts on Steemfollowe as possible, and upvoting them all... Keep it up... Oh, by the way, I am using Macromedia Fireworks as the digital imaging tool. It's a beauty in that it is HIGHLY intuitive, and provides all of the features I need for this project without a glut of unnecessaries (like with Photoshop). The User Interface is very pleasant. I HIGHLY recommend it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68