Graffiti Art- crime or art ? You decide

in #art7 years ago

20180405_162331.jpg
Today i am visiting Stokes Croft in Bristol UK. The area is well known for its great restaurants, community, nightlife and its colourful graffiti. I found myself walking around taking many photographs of all the amazing art.

20180405_222038.jpg
As you can see from the first photo I was fortunate enough to be taking photos whilst this piece was being sprayed, the smell from the aerosol paint was wafting all the way down the high street.

20180405_161322.jpg
This photo and the next few were taken outside the famous (in Bristol) club called the Lacota, and the old Magistrates court house buildings.
20180405_161328.jpg
Whilst walking along this back road taking photos I had a really rough looking guy come up to me begging for money, his face was covered in sores and he had the inside of an old refrigeration unit in his hands that he was trying to extract the tiny amount of copper from.

20180405_161440.jpg
I love how the graffiti in some places is almost dense with tags! Like this photo of this doorway.
20180405_161531.jpg
Then as a contrasting shot something so amazing and the opposite effect like in this doorway.....

20180405_162612.jpg
Every available piece of space is jammed packed with art like on this lampost.

20180405_160522.jpg
20180405_161544_001.jpg
20180405_160703.jpg
20180405_162913.jpg
I hope you've enjoyed the little walk around Stokes Croft in Bristol with me, I'm sure you will agree theirs such a lot of talented artists that live here displaying their colourful and unique work and if your an artist wishing inspiration no visit to Bristol should go without it. 😊

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:19:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.70/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow, some of those are really incredible. In every photo here I see art. Definitely a place to remember if I ever get to visit the UK

Thanks for your comment @bruseski glad you agree too 😊

Some great tallent there.

Glad you like it @j85063 😊

Thanks for sharing!!!! I always think Bristol and Melbourne have a lot in common. We have heaps of fab graffiti and it is encouraged as it is part of the cities aesthetic. Well, in some areas anyway!!!

Be great to see some of the graffiti art from Melbourne @riverflows sometime, may Be we can compare the different styles 😊 I love good creativity in general

Yes and thats the amazing thing about cities. Though we have just been with mates in the country (writing about it on a sec) who are both artists and want to start a collective. They have been making big nature sculptures by their stream. So tempted to move there and join them.

Wow that sounds like heaven to me, nature sculptures by the river 😊❤

Mucho Amor ❤
Upvoted, Reesteemed

Aw thanks you lovely man!! I knew you would love it!!!

Love the tagging. Magical. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Hi Joey, pleasure to meet you my name's Jay, I'm happy my article got noticed by you and you liked it to 😊
I noticed you only follow 6 people on steem, I decided to follow you as you have an unusual name on here, love it , I challenge you to go to 7 and add me to your tiny band of ones you follow
I hope to share more unusual posts in the future with you too 😊
Wishing you a wonderful day

Jay, I could try to follow everybody or I could maybe try to follow nobody. It is tough to draw the line between the two. 7 is a lucky number for sure.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Yeah I grew up on the rough streets in my area, so have always been surrounded by graff writers.
Some of them look wild.

That 5th image is nutz when you realize thats a corregated garage door, and they ain't easy to paint

Wow, that picture is my favourite too, mainly because the sign goes so well above It, and the fact it would have been such a challenge to paint! 😊
Wishing you a great day mate 😉

Right back at ya m8 :)

How could anyone possibly consider this as a crime?
Sometimes graffiti are ugly, but this is art, and it clearly costed a lot of time, money and efford so it should only be appreciated.
I love the sea bottom, but they're all beautiful

I am glad you apreciate as i do such colourful expression of creativity @creepyturtle the sea themed place sort of goes in a creepy kind of way with your profile name on here 😊
Wishing you a good day 😊

ahahah, true :)
Wish you a lovely day as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61164.79
ETH 2416.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63