You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soft grasses

in #art7 years ago

Gorgeous! Grasses are so underappreciated - - just mowed down, usually. I like letting my grass grow, so I can see the rippling waves in the breeze. Most years, at this time of year, I identify 14 different kinds of grasses. The one on the left in your top photo-pair is one of them. It comes up with such a fluffiness and a soft pink. Your drawings of the grasses really capture their differences, too. Grasses are so varied -- but some are hard to identify, lol. Enjoy your grasses!

Sort:  

I'm VERY glad you liked this post, I did have a look to see if I could identify the grasses but I wasn't 100% sure of them. I finally mowed my lawn this week, it was looking nice and wild! However, I raised the mower blades so that it didn't damage the clover flowers- the bees love them!

Grasses are hard to identify sometimes. Some are easy, but others take looking so closely at the flowers. And there's a lot of technical terminology in the field guides! It can be maddening. It's more relaxing to enjoy their beauty, for sure!

There is so much going on in a lawn. We all have to mow sometime, but it's nice you could keep the clover and bees happy! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30