Mermaid projects and lack of job hunting

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Aloha Steemers,

20th October was my last day in a job-I handed in my resignation (no not because I had to follow my dreams and all that malarkey, i wish I had the funds and a clue as to what the dream was), It was because my role required me to relocate and on not that much of a salary.

So far I have been run down,blocked ear,tooth ache, swollen glands and mental exhaustion (using that as an excuse) and have not actually began to job hunt. To get into the zone usually takes me a week or so, as I am easily distracted and to be utterly honest, I dread it- will come onto that later.

Instead of typing, I have been doing a bit of embroidery. A couple of months ago I saw an Instagram post on threading, I explored the hashtag #hoopart and came across incredible embroidery designs!! Of course I had to have a go too! Ordered some wool and fabric. Needles, scissors etc I had already (after all I do have a degree in art and what art individual wouldn't have all this eh?!!)

This was actually my second attempt at embroidery,my first I shall perhaps post at a later date,as a throwback. I am a water baby and love anything beach and marine/sea/ocean etc related- probably because I grew up by the lake in Malawi, Central Africa (where Madonna gets her kids from). Not sure as to why I then went for a fantasy image of a mermaid,rather than something real like a shark or a shell-nonetheless here she is.....(see below images).

I chose to use different colours for her fish tale,to make it appear as scales and to be glimmering all those wonderful colours that they glimmer in. I am super proud of this piece especially since it only my second attempt!

Enjoy-

Peace & love all.

Hannah

IMG_2778.JPG
IMG_2790.JPGIMG_2792.JPGIMG_5915.jpgIMG_5918.jpg

Sort:  

A lovely embroidery @han-and-woody. Welcome to Steemit.

Hi !!! Thank you ever so much!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52