The Unkown Voyage

in #art6 years ago (edited)

E05CD969-2A39-4847-B290-8A9E46896503.jpeg

These past few days I have been working on this memorial painting for my grandpa.

“The Unknown Voyage”

My grandpa was a captain we always use to go sailing when I was growing up, Our reality is a bubble so fragile and temporary and we all go on that unknown journey out of the bubble into infinity. Enjoy my visual poetry.

BFFE5676-054E-406A-87FF-84DA7B637824.jpeg

Grandad was a kind man, he always sought to help others. While I was growing up he would go to therapy sessions 2 sometimes 3 times a week with me if I needed it, he was always quick to offer his support and held no judgement of those in need of healing. He was prepared for every adventure we went on, he always packed a cooler full of cokes and cream sodas because our favorite drink was half of each mixed together. Grandad taught me how to drive and wasn’t even mad when I bumped the van, on the entrance gate to our apartment building, in the process. He was a sailor and we grew up out on the ocean, he taught me so much about tying knots, directions and even let me steer the boats occasionally. I have a fondness for the sea and since I have been traveling I have seen some of the most beautiful oceans and they always remind me of him, I feel close to him on the seaside even now. Grandad and meme took me in and raised me, even though they didn’t have to, he was my father figure and I am so thankful for him. Through all of our highs and lows we always maintained a deep connection. I will forever hold all the memories we shared dear in my heart. My love for you grandad, is as infinite as the constant crashing of the waves. May there be blue skies and wind in your sails to guide you back home.

27994CFC-A8DA-4A78-A878-BCB2B2B518BC.jpeg

15AF6E85-22EB-481E-9334-AC530BF4A6D2.jpeg

1C88E833-83BE-4BF0-9647-06F35FCE4422.jpeg

Sort:  

What a beautiful painting you have created! Your grandad sounds like an exceptional person.

Thank you. He was, his unexpected passing has been really difficult.

I bet it has! Wishing you peace and comfort in the difficulty. Hugs!

That is a wonderful painting and a good memorial.

What a tribute to your grandpa... Thanks for sharing with us of his beauty and spirit, your sense of gratitude spreads love and him among us with a respect that touches the soul.

Namaste :)

The painting is good! If you really did that then you can become a great artist one day. I hope you keep practicing that talent.

Hermoso trabajo, tu abuelo debe estar muy feliz. Creo que la experiencia mas gratificante que hay es poder conocer el mundo entero, ir a donde casi nadie ha ido y llenar tu existencia de muchas experiencias. Navegar debe ser la cosa mas interesante por la cantidad de experiencias que puedes vivir en cada viaje. Gracias por compartir tu trabajo, saludos.

Unknown excursion is the unrealized method of all of humour ..its so symbolism for travel and traveller..thanks @haileyscomet for sharing this informative post..always support me dear.

Your words re really beautiful for your grandad. He is really a good man, caring father. I love the memories y' had with him...especially sailing with him and bashing his car trying to drive...lol. Maybe y' have to get him a new car anytime soon. These re the kind of beautiful memories we should have with our parents. Its the best moment of life. Nice

I like how the soap bubble magic gives wind to the ship. A touch of innocence :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88