The art of painting comics

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is how sequential art is crafted "traditional way" at Haedre's HQ. Here are some pro-tricks through a documented progress report

This is an extract from the third chapter of my book "Devlok, the Techno-templar".
It's a surreal and sci-fi gritty descent in the depth of a universe built by artificial intelligences.
All the art is made with watercolour and various thinliners. Format is around 37x27cm / 14.5x10.6 in.
17016840_1595763843774044_7771670709425786759_o.jpg

If you haven't read my previous similar posts, I must explain. The paper is 300g. Arches, hot pressed (so flat, without texture). It is at first watered and sticked on a light wood board. While drying, it tenses, which prevent warping.

Here's an extra peek, this is the very page of the rough story-board. I work the panels on illustrator and scan/stick a rapid sketch in so I can easily vary their sizes and see what's the best. I also add thought bubbles so I make sure they are correctly integrated and that the flow of lecture works.
script page 1.jpg

So, let's start with a light penciling. In this panel, there aren't so much complicated composition or perspective. An athmospheric perspective will later bring depth.
IMAG6670.jpg

Once I get a sufficiant idea of what is needed, I start inking.The more close the shapes are, the thicker the lines. Here I used various classics "Staedtler - Pigment Liner".
IMAG6702.jpg

Then I erase the pencil.
IMAG6726.jpg

You can see a bit better here how the paper is sticked (the brown kraft paper) to the boards. You can also see that I work on several "boards" at the same time.
IMAG6740.jpg

Color is coming! Basically here I just add layers of a mix of Payne's Gray and Ultramarine where it should be darker. The closer the shapes are, the more I add a very slight indigo and violet to the mix. So for the background, the lighter mix stays almost untouched. I also made some of the debris flying out of the panel, to add more depth and sense of movement.
17016840_1595763843774044_7771670709425786759_o.jpg

Here's an overview of the actual "work boards".
IMAG6748.jpg

IMAG6774.jpg

And here is the definitive panel. (Yet without thought bubbles)
page 1 case 3 ban.JPG

I will post the real comic page tomorrow in my next post about "The Techno-templar", so be sure to check around here!

Thank you for having checked my post.

If you are interested in the physical book(s) take a look at my Bigcartel's page http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Don't forget to check my official website for more art! http://www.haedre.com

You can also support me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

And/or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks again! Please consider to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Love this!

I love it when other artists show exact techniques.

For thousands of years, Artists, Artistians & Craftsmen up until about the 1970s mentored apprentices.

Thats why I put some short hands on real world use Mold Making technique Tips videos on You Tube.

And small specific sculpting and finishing techniques on my blogs
thumbsupcolor.jpg

Thank you @richatvns!

Love this stuff! Reminds me of old school anime backgrounds, like some of the ones from Robot Carnival or Katsuhiro Otomo's Memories.

Hey thanks a lot @midlet! Otomo is one of my main influences -) Robot Carnival I somehow discovered later and it didn't really printed in my brain :D

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Nice work, I am going to follow, in hope of more!
Cheers!

Thank you @friendly-fenix!

Really awesome art! Curious how the story unfolds!

Thanks a lot @nutela! For the 20 first pages of the story, just scroll down my profile or visit my website ;)

... for the complete, visit http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Basicly here I just add layers of a mix of Payne's Gray and Ultramarine where it should be darker.
It should be basically instead of basicly.

oh! Thanks @grammarnazi!

Thanks for using #artzone tag! Artzone can give just one upvote per day!

Great job! Sketch with pencil, draw the lines with pigment liner and then erase pencil was my way too. One day I got a light panel and I did get rid of the annoying erasing :))

Thanks! Yeah there are tons of annoying things with this process :D. For instance I'd like to keep the ink on a separate sheet and paint on a copy for various reasons but since it's all direct on the board...
For my next project I want to try it though, I am only blocked by not finding a printing company that print on the paper type and ("big") format I need ... haven't find yet!

You already know how much I love your stuff, @haedre :> Since we both are Jodorowsky fans, I am glad to see retro-scifi style still lives so magnificently in your works <3 Your environment panels are just impeccable * ___ * The details and delicate line art and the colours <3 Very gorgeous !!

Love your work! KEEP IT UP~

upvotes and resteems

hey @veryspider! So happy to see fans of that kind of art here around, I appreciate your support a lot! Thank you!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59