How I paint comics - The Techno-Templar Chapter III Cover (+ Progress)

in #art6 years ago

Chapter_3_cover_Crop.jpg


A 100% watercolor and ink artwork, part of my homebrewed sci-fi and surreal graphic-novel.


Chapter 3 cover_NET.jpg

Chapter_3_cover_detail_1.JPG

Chapter_3_cover_detail_2.jpg

Chapter_3_cover_detail_3.jpg

Chapter III is the one I am currently posting about on Steemit. It starts when the main protagonnist "Devlok" is unloaded from a sort of train in the main station of "Node 32". A techno-cathedral whose task is to digitalise, or numerise basically everything... and destroy the original as part of the procedure...

Note: The second book of the "Techno-Templar", which comprises chapters III and IV has been published in October 2017.

Here are shots of the progress. The format of the original painting is around 36x27cm and have been made during April 2017. The idea seem to have been an attempt to make it look like these movie posters, a bit star wars style. Except that I can't take the way the characters usually blend, so in this case the structure and the cables are a good solution to "mix everyone".

As usual, Arches paper 300g. Watered and tensed on a wood board. Starting with rough pencil shapes.
Chapter_3_progress_1.JPG

Inking, not too detailled but the important parts.
Chapter_3_progress_2.jpg

First colours. Still rather rough.
Chapter_3_progress_3.jpg

Between the last step and this one it's tough to explain what happens! I am not even sure if I know myself :D
Chapter_3_progress_4.jpg

Et voilà!
Chapter_3_progress_5.jpg

Hey I hope you enjoyed this! If you want to read the previous pages of the book, simply follow and scroll down my profile and look for the posts with "The Techno-Templar".

There are also video flick through from the books

If you are interested in the physical book(s), this is where you should head http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

Committing to comics is hardcore dedication job, consider supporting me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

Or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks!

upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Wow awesome work again and really good post. Love all the details and process shots. Happy to see it got rewarded well deserved :)

Upvoted resteemed

Thank you for the comment! I am actually lucky indeed I took all these pictures while working on that -)

Very nice, looks like steampunk :)
btw: I really enjoy in Vincence Segrelles - Le mercenaire (The mercenary)
Wish you success :)

Thank you @seckorama! Yeah I love Segrelles too, I have the two books, in French.

your art is just amazing bro..

wow 👌👌

Love that determined expression.

Thanks for the comment @steven.nam!

Hey @easytutospc, thank you for your comment. If this drawing is yours and not retouched with photoshop, I'd say that you have a certain mastering of the pencil, very good gradients. About the composition itself I am not a fan of fanart, in my opinion you won't learn much by copying. I would suggest to create your own world, just let your mind speak. What do you want to say? :D
In any case, I support taking a pencil and drawing, whatever it is.

friend, thank you for your comment, I really like the drawing, it helps me to unravel and I will try to follow your advice a little.

This post has received a 3.68 % upvote from @boomerang.

Hello excellent drawing, I congratulate you, your impeccable technique, I also draw you I invite you to my block

thank you, it's very interesting!

Thank you vey much for the comment @prostosun =)

Very nice cover, @haedre ! The balance between the two characters is well portioned with the diagonal composition <3 And the detailing work is amazing, as usual :D

upvotes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88