How I paint comics - The Techno-Templar #25

in #art6 years ago (edited)

page 5 top crop.jpg

Here's page 25 of my 100% watercolor, sci-fi and surreal graphic-novel along with its process and some tricks!


page 5 EN FLAT WATER.jpg

If you want to read the previous pages, just visit my profile and scroll it down!

Before everything, the story-board: I use this only between me and I so of course I don't need to be extremely accurate. But you can see that the thought bubbles and the gutters are there and that their are done digitaly. It's because I sketch a lot of panels very roughly, scan them and open them in Illustrator. It's easier then to manipulate them, change their sizes, flip them etc... than if I would have to erase and start again on paper.
script page 5.jpg
Thought bubbles must be integrated in the action as the way they are arranged can change a lot in the meaning of your panel. Aswell for the gutter which is where the reader's imagination actually really comes in action. The gutter has a very strong power in sequential art. It actually defines the time which is one of the most difficult thing to illustrate. For instance, when no gutter is used, it creates a timeless scene.


Now the board is prepared, the paper is dried and tensed. The outlines of the panels are inked. I can start penciling!
I often use the two tiers rule, so here, that round thing is placed in the higher left tiers and the weird machinery in the lower right tier.
devlok_page_26_progress_4.jpg


So, this is how it looks once almost completely inked. It's already pretty neat (hehe) but I still leave some space for more coming details.
devlok_page_26_progress_5.jpg

Another close up of an inked panel.
devlok_page_26_progress_8.jpg


The watercolour is already well engaged and you can see that I work conjointly with the previous page, as they are from the same sequence (except the two lower panels).
devlok_page_26_progress_9.jpg

In this panel I used a combination of cobalt turquoise and light anvers blue, adding more yelowish stains the closer we get. Started with the zones where there are shadows, avoiding the lit ones. First with very delayed paint (lavis), then more and more layers, accentuating the terminator with (the very spot where the light stops) payne's grey.
devlok_page_26_progress_6.jpg

You can see that I try to not get paint in the gutter but of course there's always a little bit of splatting in. I have seen people sticking tape in or using masking fluid but in my case, I simply clean everything with Photoshop after the scan. I think in a way it could devaluate the original but at the moment, that process of hidding the gutter was too laborious!
devlok_page_26_progress_2.jpg

You might also see that during the process, many brush lines look a bit clumsy. But it is the amount of others that come over and over that bring texture and a sense of breathing things (even yeah, if here we're talking about a biotop of nano-based structures and beings).
devlok_page_26_progress_3.jpg


Let's have a little look from the whole ... it's almost finished!
devlok_page_26_progress_7.jpg


Hey I hope you enjoyed this! I repeat myself, but if you want to read the previous pages, simply follow and scroll down my profile.

If you are interested in the physical book(s), this is where you should head http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

Committing to comics is hardcore dedication job, consider supporting me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

Or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks again! Don't forget to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

This is quite good. The style and subject matter remind me of one of my favorite graphic novels, The Incal.

Thank you @jenkinrocket! Glad to hear you have good taste for graphic novels. Definitely my favorite too .)

This is what I'm looking for, easy choices! You've been added to the @ARTzone voting pool :D

Sweet =) Thank you @artzanolino!

Amazing post.....illustration is very creative and I love how you demonstrate the process.

Happy you appreciate =) Thanks @countrygirl!

haedre it's an awesome illustration and also nice watercolor technique ,

Thank you very much @adelepazani =)

Well done. The process looks very time consuming. I like the layout and content. The detail creates some great depth. Following for more.

Yeah a page can take up to two weeks .) Thanks for appreciating!

Awesome process! And very beautiful use of color! Well done!
Resteemed and upvoted! Yeah!! :)

Thank you for the comment! Glad you're enjoying .))

Incredible * __ * Love this ! The steps of each comic page of your have been nothing but amazing * ___ * How you plan, then ink and then colours are really awesome and I love the details you've put into each panel and wowowowowow so amazing <3

upvotes and resteems

Thank you so much for the support @veryspider! You're the best :))))) Glad you appreciate the steps and details!!!

Friend, that madness all the work that you must do, sure those arts in person should be seen spectacular, thanks for sharing

firma 2.jpg

Thank you for the nice words @basileonardo! You're probably far, but if you pass around Berlin you can come see the atelier!

This is awesome and getting to see your process is really cool. Love your style!

Glad you're enjoying @anarchojeweler! Thanks for the words.

Wow! I knew that painting comics wasnt easy - its amazing to see the process! Thanks for sharing, you definately have that talent @haedre!

Thank you for commenting @cooknbake! Happy you found it interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78