How I paint comics - Techno Templar's book cover (Progress)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

banner-kickstarter_reduced.jpg

The making of the 100% watercolor and ink illustration I did for the second book of my graphic novel "Devlok, the Techno-Templar".

Just as a reminder, the story takes place in the "Hyperhedron". A world designed by artificial intelligences where a biotope of nano-carbon based creatures and virtual beings flourishes, while casts of neo-humans like the Techno-Templars have vowed to protect data at all costs. Machines are nonetheless on the lookout for the least of their weaknesses as bio-life is considered a virus ...

The original artwork's size is 24x36cm (9,4 x 14,1 in). It is painted on Arches paper 300g. (Hot pressed). The sheet is tensed on a wood board with kraft paper, then cut out when finished. This ensures it to not warp.

Penciling; gross shapes, compass for the circles.
progress_cover_1.jpg

I am missing the pictures of the inking process. But I usually refine the penciled shapes and try to keep it very light, I can then erase the smudgy pencil remains to have a clearer view and start to add more details.

In this illustration, I started with Devlok's jacket, pure crimson red varying to magenta. Then oranges mixed with various ochres for the rusted circling structure. And blueish, greenishes for the concrete and metal. Shoes are with grey (so diluted black).
progress_cover_2.jpg

progress_cover_3.jpg

And the background. Sometimes I do it before, usually for instance with cosmic scenes but in this one it came as last. Reason is here that there's some fog that is covering the mast where Devlok sits. Note also that for the back of the book, I did another painting with similar background alone, without the figure.
progress_cover_4.jpg
Last steps are various black ballpoint pens and thinliners for the outlines. And additional whites; gouache, acrylic and white thinliners.

Here's the definitive version. Scanned and with very lightly enhanced colours for prepress.
cover 3 EN_Wat.JPG

Details.
cover 3 Detail.JPG

cover 3 Detail2.JPG

cover 3 Detail3.jpg

The books.

Soft cover A4 format (8,2 x 11,8 in).
54 pages of high quality 200g. paper. Cover 250g.

It comprises chapters 3 and 4 from "Devlok" (34 pages + art in full page) + "Procreator", an 8 pages, B&W, short explicit cyber-erotico novel + "A breakcore saga", a 4 pages short novel about a specific and rather obscure electronic music genre called "Breakcore" (Which is in my opinion, the actual most cyberpunk musical genre ever). Book Two ENG.jpg

Hey I hope you enjoyed this! If you want to read the previous pages, simply follow and scroll down my profile.

If you are interested in the physical book(s), this is where you should head http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

Committing to comics is hardcore dedication job, consider supporting me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

Or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thank you again! Don't forget to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Love the style. It reminds me a bit of the art work by Moebius.

Thank you @mathowl! I don't hide the influence =)

Do you have any in-comic-book example page available :)

Hi @mathowl thanks for your interest! You'll find the pages all over my profile. Just look for the Techno-Templar posts.

Or on my website http://www.haedre.com

Or even video flick-through there

It has that influence without being derivative. Nice work!

Your colour and line is really amazing. I work similarly in that I love to sketch and usually do a few watercolour studies prior to a larger 'final' piece in digital oil.

I just found you today, again on another artists I follow blog @gric. I really love how the Steemit art world brings all we artists in touch with each other and despite all our many varied styles, applications, and even subject matter, we have an affinity that I have not felt in a long time IRL and certainly never online before.

I am happily following you now and going to check out your other things and your site.

That is a very nice comment @donnadavisart, thank you. =)

I discovered Steemit through @gric actually, like a few I believe. But who got him in? :D

There are still a few things I am not so fond here especially the feed being a bit poor on average but I definitely count a lot on the platform to develop in the right way, I do believe in it, so far.

Yes, the art community! This I am very eager to see it growing, it's seems difficult to bring "lambda people" but for creatives who already spend time blogging or posting, that seems a good place. Can only get better!

Your style is really nice and authentic, like a 1980 heavy metal magazine cover, I really like it.

-upvoted-

Thanks for appreciating and mentioning my heroes @scrawly!!!

Great result! I think the texture is my favorite part, it feels so authentic and full with raw energy enhanced with vibrant golden color. Also love the choice of font/logo and how the cover looks!

Cheers!
Dm7 🌞

Thank you for your comment @dm7! Yeah that's why I think watercolour is great, it can be a gamble but it can bring really cool textures indeed.
Logo came with the second book, for once I am not so disappointed of my logos, which are not my specialty.

You're very welcome! I have a love and hate relationship with watercolors because it can be wild. XD I'm so glad it worked out very well for you! <3

Pity you lost the inking photo! Other than that top job mate :)

Fonts by you too?

Thank you @nazirullsafry :)
Ah the missing step, probably because I had a lot of fun and didn't take thought of taking a picture :)
Yes, I digitalized my own font, still needs a few edits for some special characters but so far it's it fits way better than any generic one. Worth.

great piccar ! very good composition, with central focus * ___ * love it, @haedre !!

upvotes

Thank you very much @veryspider!!!
bowing :))))

it's great , i like that it's a hand painting with watercolors,
Nice book cover , <3

Thank you so much for the comment @adelepazani! I make a point of doing hand painted comics. This way I can also exhitibit (and sell) them.

nice piece of art as ussualy ;)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77