Hedonaeon - Progress of a painting. An entry to Art Explosion #34: Erotica

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello, here's Hedonaeon. She is (a personnal variation of) the greek goddess of pleasure, daughter of Eros and Psyche.

This piece was done for @juliakponsford's 34th Art Explosion contest. Thematic was great so I thought I give it a try. So here's my entry! Enjoy!

Hedonaeon.jpg

Like asked, there's a progress report. The artwork is 30 x 21cm (11,8 x 8,2 in) and made with watercolour and various pens on (not so special watercolour) paper 250g.

Rough pencil. The lines for the elements of the visage are barely visible but they are there.
20180329_181216.jpg

Inking with black ballpoint pen.
20180329_205536.jpg

Some splats for the textures. Here I used a mix of burnt sienna and ultramarine, plus some orange.
20180329_210754.jpg

Olive green with burnt sienna plus a little of blue, very diluted to apply a first lavis, then 2 other ones slightly more concentrated to obtain various depth layers.
20180330_003320.jpg

For the visage, a diluted yellow ochre and crimson red plus burnt sienna for the darker shadowing. Always by successive light layers that need to dry in between. You can also see that I started to cast shadows which straight gives volumes.
20180330_151041.jpg

Let's have a closer look.
20180330_151059.jpg

More layers of ink and of watercolour. Also some touch up with white gouache and pens. Notice that the artwork is slightly leaning to make the color accumulate where it is supposed to (actually the dark of the mouth).
20180330_211323.jpg

A detail.
Hedonaeon detail 1.jpg

And the finishing touch.
20180330_220504.jpg

Of course, this artwork is for sale, if you interested, contact me through my website!

Thank you for having checked my post!

Don't forget to check my official website for more art! http://www.haedre.com

You can also support me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

And/or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks again! Please consider to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Whenever I saw your art pieces, there was some memory surfacing but never coming fully out. I've been trying to realize what it was, had it on the tip of my tongue but never was able to exactly understand it. Now, after you posted this erotic artwork, I think I know! Your art is Milo Manara in Space!! Excellent work, I really enjoy it!

Wow, what a compliment!! Though I think I am light years away! Manara is such MASTER when it comes to feminine shapes! Also he's fast, seen videos of him drawing, with no preparative lines etc.. Incredible. I think he did some stories in space but I am not sure. For that particular setting, you should check Paolo Eleuteri Serpieri's "Druuna", if you haven't.

Thanks again ;)

Thank you for opening this little window to your mind. You have the technique so mastered that you make it look so easy. Now I want to give watercolors a try, but I won´t, because then I´ll realise I suck at it and I´ll hate you for fooling me.... :)

Thank you for your comment. I will edit a bit the post to add more details of what I really do during the process. I'd like to make a proper tutorial with video one day but have no good material for this at the moment. But hey, haha, mabye it looks like I master it but I do a bunch of mistakes! For me it's the same when I look at tutorials, looks easy, well, it's not :D. Just needs a lot of training, tests and mistakes ;)

I need to start exploring my watercolors that are still unopened

Please do. Try to read some tutorials as it always helps to have a few tricks. Like how to blend two colors in a gradient, using the right paper etc...
Thanks for commenting!

Yes but I think I just need to start experimenting cause I have probably already watched about every tutorial on YouTube lol.
And those 350+ sheets of Canson Montval 200gsm paper should be enough to just start messing around.

Oh so you just need to dive on! Yes no need expensive paper but either some that has the side sticked either you need to tense it on a board. If not it'll warp too much. The one with the side sticked will warp a bit anyway so you shouldn't use too much water. If at the end it is warped anyway, you can still spray water on its back, put table paper on and then a board with some weight for a night. Maybe mess with several at the same because you often need to wait for some parts to dry out.

The whole trick with watercolor is to play with the amount of water and how dry the paint is, as it'll mix and blend differently.

Also, for the colour itself, it's good to have quality ones.

Yes I have White Nights artist grade watercolors🙂 I’m going to give it a go tonigh

Great! have fun!!!

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

FUCKING AMAZING!!!!!!! Thank you so much for joining our discord!

Haha! THANKS @dynamicgreentk! That's welcoming! ;)

Really nice

Very impressive art work. Wonderful!

Thanks a lot for your comment @latrixetanobis!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Beautiful work. I only wish I could draw and paint like that!!!

Thanks for sharing! I like the details in in a lot

Thank you for the comment! I assume you have skills I have no idea of and that I'd never be good at :D :D

Lol, thanks! Perhaps perhaps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82