🎨 Amor Canalis - Original Painting (+ details & progress)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

One of my latest watercolor painting with its complete process.

Amoris Canalis.jpg

Amor Canalis - 2018

Watercolor and thinliners on paper. 32 x 24 cm - (12,5 x 9,4 in)

Details
Amoris Canalis_Detail_1.jpg

Amoris Canalis_Detail_6.jpg

Amoris Canalis_Detail_3.jpg

Amoris Canalis_Detail_5.jpg

Amoris Canalis_Detail_4.jpg

Progress

Pencil. For this painting, I used this block of watercolor paper 300gr. The 10 pages are sticked together on their side with a sort of glue. It does prevents a bit against warping but it's not very efficient. It is better to avoid using this if you plan large, plain colors with a lot of water. But to start something without the hassle of preparing a proper watered paper, sticked on a board etc .. (like I do for bigger works), it's ok.
Amoris Canalis_Process_1.jpg

Inking over the pencil. Just the important shapes and not too detailled, altough it is part of a first layer of details but let space for more later. Amoris Canalis_Process_2.jpg

Erased the pencil. I am still not using blue pencil like I was planing to because they break so easily. So, ending up with smudgy areas. But since I cover everything, I don't mind that much.
Amoris Canalis_Process_3.jpg

Amoris Canalis_Process_4.jpg

A first layer of micro-splashy textures throughout various drying times.
Amoris Canalis_Process_5.jpg

Amoris Canalis_Process_6.jpg

Now rudely placing the shade zones of that outer layer.
Amoris Canalis_Process_7.jpg

While I accentuate everything more and more, I added those textured Indian Yellow lines on the visages. They will lean towards ground oranges. I keep the lighted areas out of color as much as I can.
Amoris Canalis_Process_8.jpg

Darkening the outer layer.
Amoris Canalis_Process_9.jpg

Accentuating shapes, adding more details and color patches.
Amoris Canalis_Process_10.jpg

Amoris Canalis_Process_11.jpg

From now on, I start to re-outline and to touch up with white gouache and Mitsubishi Pencil - Uniball Signo.
Amoris Canalis_Process_12.jpg

One of the last step, the cast shadows. Sometimes they are not necessary and it can be easy to ruin everything with them, pay attention!
Amoris Canalis_Process_13.jpg

Time to find a spot for the signature.
Amoris Canalis_Process_14.jpg

Done!
Amoris Canalis_Process_15.jpg

Thanks for having checked my post!



Visit http://www.haedre.com to discover more art.

Consider to support me by buying my prints: http://haedre.com/shop/direct-to-me

And books: http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Sort:  

This is awesome! Not just your skills but also how you share the process. We need artists like you on here, to compensate for all the crap ;>)

Thank you @vincentnijman!
I agree with you and I do my best to bring other artists here!

Cool! I don't. Not enough creatives around me but I am sharing my filmmaking project on here that I'm working on with my screenwriting buddy ( who isn't on Steemit ) so I feel I'm contributing too ;>)

Have a good one!

Very well done. I really enjoy this piece and seeing your walkthrough. I especially enjoy when you can feel a piece. This one does that.

I know it sounds bad and I know you should never compare yourself to another artist, but I feel like a schlump LOL.

Thank you @tryskele!

MegaLOL!! "a schlump", that's the kind of words I dig!

Yay someone who has my sense of humor, that could be scary LOL

Hi @haedre. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Join this awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Thank you @knacksteem.org!

Reading your Blog right now, looks interesting, definitely keeping an eye on it!

Congratulations @ haedre, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 96

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

hi @haedre , i enjoyed watching the process and what a Lovely painting !
you have your own style in watercolor technique <3

Thank you very much Adèle =)

Very nice, @haedre <3 Always such a master of intricate details * ___ * I love your style so much ! The colours are wonderful and the step by step is presented really awesomely <3 <3 <3

Thank you for the unstoppable support Spider!!

What a spectacular artwork, @haedre. Thanks for sharing this with us!

Me gusta mucho su publicación, muy bonito arte... No soy experta en el tema, pero si muy curiosa... Me encanta el surrealismo en esta imagen. Por favor me corrije si no se trata de un surrealismo.

Congratulations! Your work has been featured on our 5th Day of Week 6 as we highlight deserving artists on this community.

Week 6, Day 5 ~ @haedre.

Thanks for sharing the interesting process...as well as your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94