Huge Enemy - Digital Drawing | Trial by Comics

in #art6 years ago (edited)


View in original size


Do you remember the medieval era? its wonderful battles? its brave warriors? well, as part of the Trial by comics competition promoted by @kommienezuspadt I have decided to recreate a scene from that time, why? because this week's theme is "War".

Humanity from its beginnings has struggled to subsist and open up a field in the world, hunting for food, surviving natural catastrophes and so on, but sometimes they have been forced to fight each other, in bloody and painful wars, which have been described as glorious in the annals of history, and indispensable for the shaping of history.

The scene that I have proposed to realize is 2000 years in the past, based on the histories of conquest of the Roman Empire, which in their eagerness of advance and dominion they submitted to the Gaulish towns, to give you an idea, these towns were the inhabitants of the territories that at the moment conform France, Belgium, Switzerland and Italy of the north.

The mythical thing of these towns was the value and force of their warriors, besides their great height, compared to an average warrior one could say that they were giants, we must remember that they were the ancestors of the Vikings and I know that you have heard great stories about the Vikings.

Following this order of ideas, I have focused the illustration in a battle to the death against a Celtic gurrero, which is faced by several warriors, transforming it into a scene quite courageous and mythical, worthy of being recorded in the chronicles of war.


As usual, I have given shape to the idea through the sketch, this has been focused on the pose each character, so I have made a kind of mannequins before detailing, the naturalness of each pose has been quite a challenge, I even had to look for baseball references to be able to perform the Celtic warrior.



Having delineated the characters, I decided to fill them with a solid color, taking care not to leave the edges, this in order to use the "layer block" and be able to detail and shadow each warrior without fear of leaving any trace outside the established area. Also I was a little excited and I immediately colored the background, breaking my habit of leaving it until the end, this is due to the idea of making the battle in the middle of an eclipse, I know that these astronomical events had great meanings in antiquity so it would be a great trigger for a war.

Therefore, I have drawn a dark sky full of diversity of colors caused by the interruption of sunlight. I tell you again, I was very excited to make that background, I had never done anything like it and it was quite special this first time, so I always say that art is fun and fascinating.


I wanted to establish the Celtic warrior as the main character, since in the illustration there are several levels of depth, the warrior will be the focus of attention to be located in the halo of light that still emanates the son, so I have detailed a little more; as for the other warriors, I have given little saturated color tones, except for their helmets, which reflect small flashes of light due to their metallic nature, also allows the viewer to remember that they are there and are not mere shadows.


http://picasion.com/

I was almost finishing the drawing at the end of the coloring of the warriors and some details of the floor, but after some good advice and notes that I received, made me reflect on some details that I had not noticed. Among them stands out the axe of the Celta, which was not according to the pose of the character and the action he was doing, my task was that the axe was on its way to hit the shield of the nearest warrior, but failed to establish the perspective and depth, so the axe seemed to hit with its side instead of its edge. Also, there was a bit of emptiness in the background, so I added some bodies of dead warriors.


I liked the result very much, I apologize if the post became a bit long, but I get a bit excited talking about history. Tell me in the comments that you thought the illustration was missing.

Original Drawing@hadley4

Licencia de Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License..
If you want to reproduce or reuse it, don't forget to give me the corresponding credits.


Thank you for your support

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65