You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Latest Halloween balloon models....

in #art7 years ago

Thank you, too :).

I did read one of your entries and I hope for my sake that I upvoted it, but I did mean to, so am sure I did. I just remember a woman swimming through the pages. Was really good. I guess I should have commented on it, but I will next time. I upvote quite a few things that I don't comment on, but sometimes I cannot add to the already made comments and sometimes can't find the correct words.

I might have a look at these as it might be a good way to keep in touch with Steemit and I'm sure it will inspire me to write more posts. Thank you for sharing that and I'll definitely have a look at them and see what my self-employed mind comes up with.

If you've been posting these daily, I have a few to read :).

Sort:  

Arigato gwb235! It gives me a warmth to know that you liked Anchor. It was more personal than I intended to post, but I promised myself that I'd try something different when I signed up for Steemit. (This last month I've done more social media posts than I have since high school AOL chat rooms.) My Pinterest account doesn't factor in since I don't have to communicate directly with people.
As I've experienced so far, the freewrite group is genuinely kind and thoughtful.
Yes, I have found myself sometimes not leaving comments for the exact reasons you stated. I suppose that gives more proof to the presence of similar minds.
😊

Hi brisby,

Yes, you have posted regularly in the last month and that's excellent stuff. We all should be posting regularly and I'm trying, but not doing very well at all, but I know that something will give, soon. I had a look at the @freewrite section and read a post regarding what freewriting is and thought it'd be ignorant of me not to try, so I found the weekend one, which is in three parts. My first two parts were okay, but obviously, wanted to change them (but didn't), but the third part just killed it for me. There is no way I could try to make it fit. It just didn't work, but I will try the next one. I am tempted to just post the first two parts, but same conclusion - I may as well try to post something interesting for people (described as the ego requiring approval in the freewriting post, which I get).

I cannot try another go at the third part either, because that would be spending a lot more than five minutes on it. I tried and came close, but sort of failed, but I am inwardly optimistic. By definition of me being here, it shows I am a hopeless optimist :). So, I will try a single five minute one and see how it goes. I thought I was being clever as well, by adding two words to the first part's title, which were, "George Gerstein". It changes the whole perception of the story and that might have been my error. I have realised something whilst typing this, though, which has been niggling me for a while and which I have edited and avoided 'but', I use the word, "but" too often. This is my way of avoiding saying that anything 'is'.

I remember when I was younger I used to come out with some seriously deep and profound words. I used to enjoy what the head could throw out and having spent many hours in altered states, I am aware that I am not always the driver of this vehicle :). I have observed myself many times and often and it can be bemusing, to say the least. Anyway, what I was saying is that I used to come out with profound words and then, after a short pause, would follow it with, "Ahh, but I'm full of shit", and I think it was because it was my ego talking the wise words of depth and profundity. I was the observer.

Jesus, there I go again on the old tangent train. One of these days I am going to make something of it all. I used to write and write, all of the time. I'd fill every piece of paper that was lying around with ideas, thoughts and projects. Song lyrics, poems, scripts, routines and philosophies. I used to love writing and then it just stopped. I can't even be bothered writing a shopping list out nowadays and regularly forget items of necessity :).

Right, slap round the face, shake off the dust of morbid becomings and fet a big happy and bright grip of my shit. Not that I'm down, just a little anxious about time passing me by and me neglecting Steemit. I apologise for the lengthy replies, because they contradict my inability to type words out in a gang of paragraphness and they take more time than they are worthy of in the octopus that we know as the written word, of which I feel this is one of the tentacles of (Eh? How's that for stretching it a bit? Ha, ha ,ha).

Okay, quick note finished and now off to try to inspire myself to write about something or create a post. With regards to the deleting things, it may have something to do with all of the problems that have been created from people sharing thoughts via social media sites and just generally online. I feel that Steemit is different in that respect and maybe because there is nothing hidden.

Thanks for the reply, brisby, oh yes, I haven't heard the word Arigato before, but I am assuming that it is a happy word :D. Keep writing and I'll catch up with you and thousands of others, very soon.

Arigato is Japanese for thank you! I was in the mood for saying it so I said it, well actually I typed it but you know that since you read it. So if the written word is an octopus, and our comments here are the tentacles, what novels am I eating when I have those deep fried octopus balls? (Which are called takoyaki and they are delicious!)
You seem to write just fine when you're responding to me and other commentors. Maybe you can write a post that is simply an open letter to whomever? Perhaps that is a style that suits you best when you are feeling "stuck". What you've written on your blog so far is interesting, personal, entertaining, and thoughtful. And seeing the number of comments you get on some of the posts, many others agree!
I'm happy that you tried the freewriting (sad that it frustrated you). Maybe you'll have more fun with a single prompt. Don't be hard on yourself! Some of these are designed to be weirdand to just to let your brain go all wonky. When I started writing my cat one I was thinking about a cat mask on an assassin, and then I ended up writing about a dead woman in a tub talking to a white cat that is supposed to lead her to the next world....
Deep and profound words are great, but (HA I'm doing it too!!) did you truly mean them and did they make you happy? Maybe your words didn't leave you and you just became more critical? ( the whole full of s*** thing...). I understand that feeling a bit. I also used to write all the time until my father told me that every time I was published it was just because they wanted to sell me the books that I was being published in. Ha!! Once I found out he was right I sort of lost my enthusiasm for putting out what I wrote, although I still wrote. And you're right that Steemit seems to be different, that's why you and I are optimistically here! Although, realistically I do know that once you gather more than five human beings one of them will turn out to be an a**hole. It's just math.
Please don't apologize for your tangent train! It's a fun ride! Have a good one gwb235!!

Hi @brisby,

I can only apologise for my absence, but I haven't gotten over the writers' block at all. I do, however, have a plan. I go to Spain again in the very early hours of tomorrow morning. I'm planning to make some baloon models and maybe another post about Spain, when I get back, so I'm hoping I'll be up to it. Having to move flat to a not as nice place as well, because can't take any ore of the neighbours, so when I get some peace, it might be easier to write. I need to do something sooner, rather than later.

I have noticed that my upvote is now worth nothing. This must be because I have been inactive, but I thought it related to your account. Never mind. One thing I did want to mention was that I came on to reply and clicked your name instead of the reply option. I noticed one of your black and white photo entries, and it looked familiar, so I clicked on it.

It was what I thought it was. How weird that you play MTG. I have a collection, but nobody to play against, so have been trying to sell them for some time. I only have 30,000 cards :). The other reason I couldn't find players is because I think my decks were too well designed. A goblin army that could have 100 goblins in play before you knew it and a truly unbeatable slither deck.

If you want to try playing with a Black Lotus, you can use proxy cards. They're a good idea when new decks come out, to see how they play and to design decks, but so many cards out now and I avoid commercial games, where the only 'LEGAL' cards are the latest expansions and it becomes a money game.

I am sorry for the late reply and yes, I think we may be running out of space on this page ha, ha. As I said, I am trying to sell the cards, but if you have a care of address, I could send you some, because if you play with the family, I have to support that and the cards would be getting some usage. No charge, just be nice to receive random cards now and again, eh?

You've mentioned typing open letter style posts, which I would like to do, but one of my first posts was a text only post and the first comment was asking for images. It seems that you have to find images, use them, credit them and source them and it can detract from the flow of writing, even to have to think about the images, but I do see why they help. I'm sure that there's some irony in there, somewhere :).

Yay, I've managed to reply. I hope you've been well and I recently had my very first video chat last a few nights ago - someone just rang me and I had to untape the video lens on the laptop, but it was fine and I enjoyed the chat we had. I'm just wondering of you could get a group of people on video chat, playing MTG? It would take days to play a single game ha, ha, ha.

Have a nice day/evening and arigato :).

(Do itashimashte!)
Hola @gwb235! Estoy feliz de saber de tu! I hope that visiting Spain helps clear your mind and gives you something enjoyable to focus on. Your last trip there seemed to brighten your mood and it'd be great if you could be somewhere that you'd be happy. So what if where you're moving to isn't as physically nice? You aren't happy in the "nicer" spot, so who cares what it looks like? As long as you'll be safe and sheltered in your new home, improvements can come with time, effort (and a bit of diy creativity). When in doubt, follow chick rules: Any place looks better instantly if you put up XMas lights or light a candle and turn off the rest of the lights. :>)
I think the worth of your upvote has more to do with whatever the price of steem is at the moment. As of me writing this, steems price is high and many people are profitting. When you can, check the prices and see if it would benefit you to buy/sell/ tranfer.
I use proxy cards for my more expensive/rare cards (nevinyrals disk, baron sengir, etc). The black lotus is pretty (and its funny how it is worth a mint) but it was never a card that I had my "heart" set on or anything. I think that it would be fun to organize a vid cam mtg game. Probably have to start off with two players then iron out logistics.
To offer to send my family some cards is as sweet as peach pie, thank you! You are kind to think of us! But, I would rather that you hold on to them so that you can play online someday/somehow with a certain 6 fingered food assassin. Or, sell them to help you have an easier time of it in Spain. Or, keep them to play with your new neighbors! (Who know, they may be awesomely nerdy!)
As for your posting an open letter style post, I get that an image helps pull in a reader and can help them viscerally identify with what is being read. Most people tend to think and remember in images agtet all, right? Maybe take a pic of your morning cup of tea? Or your comb? Whatever object is around your home that set you off thinking and wanting to write.
Enjoy your day/night @gwb235!
Arigato & Egao tamochimasu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45